We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food”
Review of India House

India House
Ranked #178 of 2,013 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: Indian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy delicious Indian cuisine in a warm comfortable atmosphere with an abundance of friendly service and smiles. Lunch Buffet: Tuesday thru Friday from 11:30 AM to 2:30 PM GRAND BUFFET: Saturday AND Sunday from 11:30 AM TO 3:00 PM Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday thru Thursday from 5 pm to 10 PM Friday and Saturday from 5 pm to 10:30 PM *Sorry, we are closed on Mondays*
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant offers a buffet for about $8 on weekdays and $10 on weekends. The buffet is only available until around 3:00PM. We ate here for dinner so we missed the buffet. We ordered two chicken dishes (came with white rice) and an onion naan. The food is delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawstudent13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They forgot the rice”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I have ordered food to go from India House on several occasions, but at least twice they have failed to include the rice that should come with the order. When I get home and take the food out of the bag, I find that the rice is missing, which is extremely irritating. I don't live near India House, so driving back to get the items they forgot to give me is out of the question. The meal is not enjoyable without rice, and When they forget to put it in the bag, I feel like I paid for something I didn't recieve. They have also forgotten to include the sauces that come with the samosas on at least one occasion. It will be a long while before I go back there, because I don't trust them to get the order right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetroUltraModern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Indian Experience in Jax”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

India House HAS many qualities most Indian restaurants do not have: cleanliness, great food, nice size dining area, quality seating and decor, and pleasant waiters. However, the waiters do NOT have a clue how to be a good waiter. (The wait staff will do whatever is asked of them...you just have to ask.) I am pleased Jacksonville has India House. Since we now have a good Indian restaurant in our hometown, we don't have to search as much for Indian restaurants when we travel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Suprise.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

5 of us dined here ladt night. All 5 dishes were amazing. Food better than many of the DC area restaurants. We had chicken tikka, lamb vindaloo, lamb korma, mixed tikka grill and muglai murg. Dinner averaged between $13-15. This one is not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Probably some of the best Indian food I've ever had. My co-worker and I both ordered the Maharaja Non-vegetarian platter, which had Chicken Tikka Masala, Lamb Curry, Samosa, and many other things that I don't know by name. The lamb curry was my favorite on the plate, but the spinach and the lentil dish was a close second. Just heaven on earth. The service was perfect and it was a very enjoyable evening. I hope to be back here many times on my next trips.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India House also viewed

 

Been to India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing