We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacksonville Favorite”
Review of Pele's Wood Fire - CLOSED

Pele's Wood Fire
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New restaurant just opened in the Riverside/Avondale Historic District of Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jacksonville Favorite”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is one of my favorite places in Jax. I absolutely love the wood fire pizzas, salad, and their beer and wine selection. Great location, service and menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Japeterson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The food is so good! Service is very good. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pizza burned”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited here for the first time with my son. The service was very slow. We both ordered pizza. Mine was just ok, but my son's pizza was burned on the outside crust. I don't think I would return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank atllisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good pizza, expensive drinks”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went to Pele's for an anniversary dinner. When we mentioned that to the server, there was no response, not even "Congrats". We weren't expecting freebies, or anything, but after 31 years, it's pretty special to us. We were glad we got there just before the end of Happy Hour. Even with special prices, my wife's drink was $6, and my draft beer was $4.50 (would have been double during the dinner hour). The pizza we ordered was pretty tasty (sausage, onions, mushrooms). The crust was thin and crispy, if somewhat burnt. The menu warned us about that, saying that the 1000 degree oven cooks very fast. Overall, the food was average, and the drinks were overpriced. We won't be returning any time soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Eclectic menu items. Very good service. Bloody Marys and Memosas were excellent. Neighborhood location recommended by our daughter. We will return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoopFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pele's Wood Fire also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing