We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homemade Ginger Ale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olio

Olio
Ranked #47 of 1,995 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featured on the Travel Channel's "Adam Richman's Best Sandwich in America" for our Duck Grilled Cheese, we are located in "The elbow" downtown Jacksonville's entertainment district. Our locals know that our Fish Tacos, Steak & Aged Gouda Cheese, and our "Deep-Dish" Quiche may even edge our the Duck Grilled Cheese. Stop by and watch our chefs prepare you lunch in our open exhibition kitchen. Everything is prepared from scratch daily, as such some items are only available in limited quantities.
Gainesville FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homemade Ginger Ale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited Jacksonville with friends and ate here last week. Interesting combinations for sandwiches, cheese and duck confit, boudin blanc (chicken and foie gras) with arugula and apple butter and good looking salads, too. Quite inexpensive for this type of choices. It was hard to choose what to eat. But, the homemade ginger ale took the prize. Spicy with ginger, not too sweet and free refills!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We ate at Olio on our way to Savannah. What a great place. The quality of the food is outstanding. You can tell that it is all homemade with quality ingredients. Will definitely stop there the next time we are in the Jacksonville area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequent_travler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went twice..once for breakfast (the grits and shrimp was superb) and the second time was for lunch and it was good too. For quick food and simple atmosphere the food is excellent and simple.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DHY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Olio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived on Friday at 10am. Plenty of seating available. Not much of a line and service at the order counter was prompt and friendly. Food portions were more than ample and the price was very reasonable. Ambience was very nice and appropriate for the location of the restaurant. (Downtown Jacksonville.) Food came out promptly even though we were the only one's in the restaurant and things were slow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrj216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food on Artwalk night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

For those of us who can't make it to Olio's for lunch, there's always Artwalk night. The first Wednesday of every month Olio's opens up for dinner. And I'm so glad they do because I was blown away by their food. I initially ordered the shrimp po boy but changed my mind when I was told there were jalapeños in their coleslaw. I am not a big meat eater so when I had to change my mind at the register I panicked and ordered a steak and cheese. I think it was the mushrooms and melted Gouda that caught my eye. So I was really shocked that when I got it, I LOVED it!! It was so good! I would definitely order it again. The homemade fries and basil sauce were also really good I can't wait till next months Artwalk so we can come back here!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RATCHELL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing