We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Bunnlevel, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife stayed at this "hotel" 18-19 Jan 2013. We booked it because of the great experiences we had at other Homestead Suites in the past.
First off, don't expect any kind of maid service unless you you have reservations for 7 days. We asked for clean towels and were told unless we stayed for seven days, they did not provide maid service. We had to take our dirty towels down to the front desk and ask for clean towels.
Our first night there, there were five police cars and one unmarked car making a drug bust or something like that in the parking lot. When I asked the front desk what was going on, the reply was "Oh, are the police in the parking lot? We didn't know." If I could see the flashing lights from the front desk, surely they could see them.
My wife asked for a map of the local area. Instead of Jacksonville area, she was given a map of Orlando.
The room was dirty, former guests food was left in refrigerator, and there was a sour smell to the room. If you drink coffee, you best bring your own own, or pay them 75 cents for a pack of coffee (First time I ever had to pay for a pack of coffee at a hotel) There was a trash bag full of garbage in the hall way at 7:00 PM , it was still there the next day at 9:00 PM.

One lady who checked in the second day, had to beg for a new room because the room assigned to her was filthy and smelled of urine, Needless to say she wasn't very happy, and was looking for a new hotel the next day. (She told us she had booked a room for 5 days, but one night was enough for her.
If there was a rating worse then terrible, I would give it to this hotel. It is a disgrace to the Homestead Suites chain. I wouldn't recommend this "hotel" to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Read the reviews before booking, and don't book this "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    9
    11
    20
See reviews for
11
10
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My name is Yusuf Abdullah. My stay at Homestead Studio Suites in Jacksonville was excellent! The humility of the staff is the best i have ever recieved anywhere i have been... Ms. Baker, Mrs. Stinson and Ms. Kim deserve recognition for their commitment to their company and their guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAM9631, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for your encouraging review of our hotel and for recognizing the hard work of the management staff and efforts of Kim. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to her; we think she is a wonderful Guest Service Representative as well! As a whole, we strive to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Guess I should have read the reviews prior to staying. Brand new to trip advisor so I need to remember to check out reviews. I was looking for a place to stay near MEPS since my son was swearing in as an Air Force officer. Where he was staying was far too expensive for one night. I was a bit disappointed that I didn't get any help checking out. I had to go downstairs and get the luggage rack and it was wobbly and hard to maneuver. But it being an extended stay maybe you are expected to do things on your own. I did turn on the heater and there was a odor which I expected but the smoke alarm went off and stayed on for awhile. I knew I was okay but no one followed up. All in all it met the purpose of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. We take great pride in offering a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price, so I was happy to read your comments about your accommodations. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your remarks. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

In response to your comments about the air conditioning unit, we have inspected all in-room air conditioners and made any necessary repairs to ensure that we don't have a repeat of your particular incident in the future. I can assure you that we will continue to maintain strict quality control measures, and would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I go to Tulsa Welding School and every since I got here thing have been fine for me.When I checked in the front desk did tell me about the 9pm rule of hanging out side. I didnt undserstand at first why untill I seen some other guest complain to the front desk there were a group of guys hanging out real late and she didnt feel comfortable and wanted to just check out. My room was fine and like I said I understand the reason why now about the 9pm rule of hanging out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest service, it was great to read about your positive experience with our staff. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. You certainly have my sincerest apologies.

I am eager to respond to your issue. Please know that we strive to provide our guests with a relaxing home away from home experience. We do have systems in place to ensure that outside noise doesn't interfere with a guest's stay. Additionally, our hotels are constructed in such a way as to mitigate the noise from outside disturbances. In the event that you are disturbed by an outside event while in your room, a call to the front desk usually ensures a rapid resolution. In your case, we recognize that we failed to operate according to our standard practices, which caused the disturbance to last longer that it should have.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I'm currently living here with my long time boyfriend, he attends Tulsa Welding school. It is awful. While there are a handful of roudy boys here from the school we are not included in that, we stay in our room, aren't loud, never disrespectful. Apparently I'm not allowed out past 9, I can't even go smoke a cigarette outside (They complain when we smoke in our rooms, even though we have a smoking room) Often times I don't even get off work until after 9, say I wanted to grill some chicken? Nope. Not allowed. Stay in your room. They threatened to call the cops if I didn't put out my cigarette and go inside, now I understand that they have to keep the place safe but I was just smoking a cigarette. What the hell? Most of the tenets here are Tulsa students, which is where their income comes from, they don't do anything for us, they don't clean our rooms, they don't give us towels or toilet paper, and that's fine, but when I pay 600+ a month for rent I expect not to be treated like I'm 15. I do not reccomend this hotel/motel for anyone. I haven't seen hookers, to my knowledge there hasn't been terrible fights, not since I've been here at least. So why are they being so terrible?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Well they keep removing my reviews for publishing the truth about this place so I will just say that the other negative reviews are 100% correct. The convenient location cant make up for the other numerous problems this place suffers. I can tell you that nobody on the staff cares about your peace and security here, doors are slamming round the clock, the maintenance and housekeeping staff go in and out of rooms by dropping the slide latch then banging the doors over and over as they go in and out. I mean who does that? Complaints fall on deaf ears, the worst managed hotel property I have ever seen. Message me if you need more details.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghenghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am eager to respond to your concerns. We strive to provide our guests with a relaxing home away from home experience. We recognize that we have failed in that mission. We would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotel(sm) other location throughout the U.S. and in Canada. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Dangerous, frightening, horrible, filthy. I was chased by drunks in the parking lot. Solicited for sex in the halls. Given an already occupied room (TWICE). Finally given a room with a broken TV and no pillows that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. A filthy cigarette burned blanket was given to me to replace the pillows as the solo staff member on shift couldn't find any. I stayed half an hour and fled. DON'T EVER STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Worldzeyez24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue East
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#91 of 133 in Jacksonville
65 reviews
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Salisbury Rd. - Southpoint
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#87 of 133 in Jacksonville
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
#56 of 133 in Jacksonville
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#90 of 133 in Jacksonville
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
0.1 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows

Property: Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows
Address: 8300 Western Way, Jacksonville, FL 32256-0324 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Jacksonville - Baymeadows)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Baymeadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Jacksonville Baymeadows Hotel Jacksonville
Extended Stay America Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing