We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great choice for mediterranean cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandaloun

Mandaloun
Ranked #79 of 1,918 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Great choice for mediterranean cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I recently went to this place looking for chicken shawarma, and just my luck they had it! It was amazing i highly recommend this dish, they also brought me pita and hummus which was as well excellent! All in all the food was amazing! The service was very friendly and made me feel at home! I would recommend this place to all my friends definetly 5 star:)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 446Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    22
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place. Food and Service are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our friends and we have been frequenting this Middle Eastern restaurant. We have never had a bad meal (we never even had a mediocre meal), and the staff is most accommodating.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lack of quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Ordered Blue moon beer, it was brought without Orange when I inquired (waiter - believe to be Owner's son) said let me check never returned... Food - medium.
A second waiter brought our check - son returned and stated check was wrong- he changed an Ouzo shot - half water half Ouzo from $5 to $8. Last note, my beer "draft" now because I never got an answer about orange slice had a piece of white napkin in it ----"I hope" very dissatisfied with experience-- they were not crowded at time of service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mediterranean cuisine, well prepared, in clean and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great little jewel of a restaruant, serving up a great variety of authentic Lebanese fare. The food is tasty, pleasantly prepared and presented in a spotlessly clean environment. The owner personally checks that each guest is satisfied, and the food is not overly spicy. Don't be surprised if your waitress starts dancing somewhere during the meal!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
496 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“A fun place with great food and a proprietor who loves his work.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our Saturday night visit here was a special treat, recommended by friends. The owner is also the chef, and after a short conversation with his son, one of the waiters, the six of us decided to just let them decide what we would have. You can give them a price you want to pay for the meal, and it will be prepared accordingly, including dessert.

They brought at least 6 mezze dishes, and we were nearly full by the time three large platters of the entrees arrived. Service was excellent. By the time the baklava and coconut squares came, we could hardly move. It was all authentic Mediterranean food, and delicious. What made the place really special was the belly dancer who did three or four performances between 7 and 9, and then the Middle Eastern band that began playing around nine. If you closed your eyes to their music, you could not miss the feel of that part of the world. The owner obviously takes great pride in his work and enjoys talking with the customers. We we had him sit with us for a few minutes after the meal, to express our appreciation for the food and ambiance of his restaurant. It was a light crowd this particular night, and he made us feel part of the family.

The restaurant was a bit difficult for us to find, in the Deerwood Village Shopping Center on the south side of Jacksonville. But it was well worth the search, and we will be returning.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandaloun also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Mandaloun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing