We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant

Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Ordered Carne Asada(which should be skirt steak) but it was not good quality. Rice and beans where good.
We also tried chile relleno and it was okay.
Margaritas where good but too expensive, can get the same and cheaper elsewhere.
We asked for fresh jalapeńos, we where not told they'd charge us $1.75!!! Never have we paid for this before in any other Mexican place.
I wouldn't go again.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasssky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for vegetarian options...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Vegetarian fajitas were awesome!! Sat outside on the covered porch, very nice!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJax904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big, fresh, authentic and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

As a Jacksonvillian with 10 years in Los Angeles, I'd say that this is the best Mexican food this side of the St. Johns River! Also, great service in a comfortable setting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank omjessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have been going to this restaurant since they were in a shopping plaza nearby. The new restaurant is a stand alone spot and it's very nice. Today we stopped for lunch and it was, as usual, great. I love their salsa and the food was very good. I'm not a big fan of Mexican food but this place does a great job. I especially like their Chili Rellanos which is perhaps my favoirte thing on a Mexican menu and the item by which I judge most Mexican restaurants. The server today was Whitney. She was so friendly and bubbly. She was more than effecient and her attitude made our lunch so enjoyable. The owner is another person who makes this restaurant outstanding. He makes it a point to come out and ask how your food is and is honestly interested in hearing your opinion. I like the fact that this is not a chain restaurant. If you are looking for nice atmosphere, friendly servers and owner, good food then this is the place to stop!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane_in_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gresat food with a friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This operation started in a small space in a shopping center a few blocks north. They expanded that space, but the business just outgrew it. This location was built from the ground up, and is the perfec size, big enough to service the clientel, but small enough to still feel like a family run place, not a chain.
Helping out with that feeling, is the friendly hands on approach of the owner. He's always walking through, greeeting the people at their tables with a handshake and making sure everything is just as they would like it.
The food is what you would expect in a Mexican resturant as far as the menu, but with more attention to quality than average. Every item, even the side items like rice and beans, is well prepared and well presented on the plate. The staff is fast and courtious, seeming to genuinely be interested in your enjoying your meal. They also are quite good at explaining the items and their preparation to those unfamiliar with the cusine.
Really, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu, but the Fraitas are a standout.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing