We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Food, Great Value & Quality, & Friendly Staff!”
Review of Bowl of Pho

Bowl of Pho
Ranked #97 of 2,037 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Food, Great Value & Quality, & Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Title sums it up. Only thing we would add is that the restaurant is usually quite full, so don't be surprised if there is a short wait. Service is great, so usually customers are in and out in a timely fashion. The Pho is AMAZING but surely all other items are probably wonderful as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCL2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is well worth a visit if you are in the area. Not a chain. Spicy authentic food. It is busy so be prepared to wait a little. We always have the bowl of pho which is a tasty broth with your choice of meet, to which you add greens and herbs and chilli - if you wish - and lime juice.
Have a glass of fresh coconut juice to go with the meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bootsieWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bowl of Interesting; aloof, sniffly hostess”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I visited Bowl of Pho with an open mind and moderate expectations. I entered to find the hostess fully aloof sniffling and sneezing. I am very certain she, at no point, covered her mouth. She did not look at me, smile or greet me as I entered or after I entered. I asked her for a recommendation for a take out order and I sincerely felt as I was bothering her. The take-out took around 15-20 minutes to complete. In the meantime I made a quick trip to the restroom. The restroom was mostly clean and unremarkable. The pho I received was,...interesting. The pho seeme fresh. There was a myriad of meats therein: including tendon and some other lesser meats. I think this is all part of the pho experience but not really my cup of tea. The greens provided in the pho were, however, extremely fresh, full and tasty. The spring rolls were tasty and fresh. Here's the bottom line; if you like Vietnamese food, you'll probably enjoy this restaurant. If you are unfamiliar with this type of food then,...tread delicately. But, the rudeness and aloofness (and sneezing) of the hostess is still inexcusable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic "not a chain restaurant" Vietnamese”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Always very busy at lunch.... thus my reason for not stopping in previously. Timing is everything I guess. Egg rolls and shrimp fried rice were tasty and filling. The large soups are in deed large. Worth a stop. Now open 7 days/week

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Something different and good”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had enough of “The Usual” restaurants, try Bowl of Pho. It is an authentic Vietnamese noodle restaurant. The restaurant is always busy, but well run. Ordering is a bit of a challenge as there are so many combinations to choose from. Look around to get a better feel for the type of food served. The servers are focus, helpful and friendly. Make sure to try the spring roll appetizer. It is unique and very good. All the noodle or rice based individual dishes comes in different sizes, are good and reasonably priced.

Bottom lines, for something different and tasty, try Bowl of Pho.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowl of Pho also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Bowl of Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing