We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honoring our fire fighters”
Review of The Jacksonville Fire Museum - CLOSED

The Jacksonville Fire Museum
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Honoring our fire fighters”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This tiny museum is close to Everbank Field and the Metro Park. Very interesting and hands on. Kids love the old fire engine, sirens, and gear. There are two floors so don't forget to go upstairs.
Marina for boats is close by at Metro Park, if you want to go by boat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank boards_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    3
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great educational experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place to visit and learn history about the fire departments in Jacksonville from the past. There is a lot of old antique fire department equipment on display there. The attendant was very nice and had a lot of knowledge of the equipment and timelines of things that happened in Jacksonville. Well worth the visit there is no charge for admission but they do accept donations to keep the doors open free to the public. A must see it took us about an hour to see everything and ask questions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Local Museum and Free Contemporary City Park for the Children”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is worth a visit if you are in the area. It's near the Everbank Jaguar Stadium and St John's River in the downtown northside community. Give it a try if you have kids. There is a nice children's park on the same side of the street!

Helpful?
4 Thank newcomer1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the kids even enjoyed it”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stopped by while we were waiting for the rest in our group to finish lunch. It was very cool to walk around and see all the old fire stuff. There were several kids with us and they really enjoyed it as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Laxmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonymous
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool FireHouse Memorabilia - Lots of Jacksonville History We Didn't Know!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

It is worth the trip to stop at the Jacksonville Fire Museum. We were spellbound by the story of the Jacksonville Fire, which we'd never heard of. The equipment there is amazing. They do an excellent job of taking care of it; and you'll be swept back in time to simpler, but more dangerous days. Thanks to the good people that keep this wonderful Jacksonvile treasure up and running!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pranashakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jacksonville Fire Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing