We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”

Jacksonville Landing
Ranked #28 of 168 things to do in Jacksonville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled along the gorgeous St. Johns River in Downtown Jacksonville, The Jacksonville Landing is home to year-round entertainment, a wide variety of waterfront dining options and a cozy inside shopping mall all of which are sure to complete an afternoon or evening of fun. For more than 25 years, The Jacksonville Landing has been the spot to stop in downtown Jacksonville. The Landing hosts more than 600 events each year including Florida/Georgia Weekend Celebrations, the annual Christmas Tree Lighting, New Year’s Eve and TaxSlayer Bowl Celebrations, St. Patrick’s Day and July 4th. Weekly events include live weekend entertainment in the center courtyard offering a variety of music including classic rock, oldies, contemporary, jazz, and top 40. The Landing also hosts a myriad of events for the community such as charity walks and runs and the Earth Day Ecology Fair. There is always something going on at The Jacksonville Landing, and a complete list of all Landing events can be found in the events section. Restaurants at The Landing provide a great view of the gorgeous St. Johns River. Visiting each restaurant is like experiencing a different cuisine and a different atmosphere each time you make your way to Downtown Jacksonville. All of the restaurants are open seven-days-a-week for lunch and dinner with the exception of Village Bread Cafe, which is open for breakfast and lunch. The Landing is also home to Mavericks Live, a nightclub which offers a variety of late-night entertainment plus national concert acts for a fun night full of dancing and good times.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful location in the middle of downtown on the riverbank. Good restaurants and atmosphere for an evening out with a date or friends. Perfect for dinner or drinks before or after a show.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bradleyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    183
    334
    258
    136
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
“it was ok”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

nice atmosphere but it needs more stores to shop. Needs more souvenier shops. there was an event that was going on featuring local acts that was really nice

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Indoor/outdoor mall project that never left the ground”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Jacksonville Landing on a Friday night. From what the website said it sounded like it would be a nice place to walk around in. I was thinking something like River St in Savannah, since it was so close to the river. It was within a very short walk of the Omni. First impressions were good, the sidewalks were new and clean, and the landscaping was very nice. However, once you enter the area it felt oddly empty. The sign indicated that half the shops were empty. All the shops we saw inside looked to be tourist junk. The restaurants were nothing special. If the place could attract some better businesses and restaurants it would be a great place to spend some time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldeimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline, SC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Downtown by the water...”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What more could you ask for in a large city? Yes, it may be a little touristy, but it was still a little oasis in a big city. The waterfront is gorgeous and the view of all the bridges is nice. We visited during the day for lunch and it was pleasant sitting outside by the water watching the boats. I'm sure that at night there is a nice view of the colorfully lighted Friendship Fountains across the river. If you are downtown, definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glennacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Meh... Nice Views but Kinda Scary & Outdated”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I were in Jacksonville for the weekend and stopped by the Jacksonville Landing. We were planning to do some shopping and eat dinner in one of the river front restaurants at sunset. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. There were very few shops and none that appealed to us. We looked at all of the restaurants and read reviews online and saw that all of the restaurants were rated extremely low on UrbanSpoon. We decided not to eat at the Landing but still wanted to enjoy the river at sunset. We decided to do the water taxi as we though it would be a good way to see more of the river and enjoy the sunset. They charged us more than advertised and did not even stop at all of the stops that were included. Before we left, we stopped to sit in the massage chairs inside, and only one side of the rollers were working so it only massaged one side of my back. All in all, a huge waste of time (especially considering how long it took us to find parking)!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacksonville Landing also viewed

 

Been to Jacksonville Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing