We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Ravenel, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“nice rooms”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked 3 rooms here while in town for the Capitol Steps performance. Rooms were clean, spacious and the staff made sure were were all on the same floor. WE didn't eat breakfast here, but from the looks of the breakfast area, it looked well stocked and alot of choice. WE will book this room again next year when we are back again. Emily, our front desk , was most helpful during our stay. The only thing I will comment on is the chair in the room was most uncomfortable. It is not for anyone who has any problems getting up. You sink down into it and very difficult to get out of. They need better chairs with more support and they need to unscrew the TV from the top of the dresser it sits on. YOu can't turn it to see it from the couch. I had to turn the chair around to view it and my husband had a hard time seeing it from the far end of the couch. The cleaning staff were happy and friendly!

Room Tip: book a room away from the elveators. Room #404 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patspetpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
25
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice, clean Holiday Inn. Staff was polite and helpful. Rooms were clean. Breakfast area was very large and food was good. There are not many places close to eat, but it was a good stay. As a matter of fact, I have already booked a room here for next week.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were visiting a local university and found that there was not much in family-priced lodging on this side of town. This was reasonably priced, very clean with nice amenities. It is also a short drive to the beaches. The room was spacious with comfortable beds. The free breakfast had great variety and all the staff was helpful and friendly. We did not have any problem with noise at all. The only drawback (and it really didn't bother us) was that although the motel had recently been remodeled with new furniture, someone who stayed in our room before us had been very rough. The work desk and one chair really wobbled. (We were there such a short time that it wasn't a problem for us, although I felt bad for the hotel.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We are driving our family from NY to Orlando for the Christmas break. Jacksonville was a good stopover point after a loooong day of driving. So from the road we pulled up Hotwire.com, opted for the lowest price hotel in the area closest to I-95, and this property popped up for $46 - Score! You never know what you're going to get, but this hotel w a pleasant surprise. I was greeted by Evita at the front desk with a big smile and welcoming attitude. The hotel was obviously renovated recently so it is clean and nicely decorated. The room was perfect for our family of four - clean, good temperature, comfy beds, nice shower. The free breakfast the next morning was well maintained and hit the spot - eggs, biscuits &gravy, sausage patties, bagels, hot cinnamon buns, juices, coffee - and my kids' FAVORITE PERK, the automatic pancake making machine. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

friendly staff, great rooms, great price for all the amenities. Would give it a 5 except for one thing, The walls are so thin you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms. On one side of us we were awakened at 4:45 in the morning by the news on the television in the next room. It was so loud I actually thought my wife had turned on the tv when I first woke up. And then at around 7:45am we could hear the entire conversation of the couple in the other room next to us.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre,Fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a very nice hotel for the price.We had the executive king suite which was spacious with a nice sitting area which we used visiting with our Sailor.The Staff was friendly and helpful the room had a good size fridge and microwave.Breakfast was good with pancakes, eggs,meat and some killer cinnamon buns.While the hotel sits on a busy street about 8 miles from Mayport NAS
It was quiet.our senior rate was great for this hotel which was comparable to much more expensive area hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandlover1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankie b, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us here at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, last month. We really appreciate both the kind words and your business. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Jacksonville area, that we will have the pleasure of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Frankie Butler
53 Jefferson rd
Jacksonville, Fl 32225
904-997-9190
frankie.jaxab@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For my stay,(visiting my son at JU) everything went smooothly while staying at this hotel.
I stayed here once when it was owned by another company, and the difference is night & day. The place is newly remodeled, very clean, extremely friendly & easy check in & very accomodating...breakfast came with the reservation & I was very pleased with the choices. Yes, the location is not very impressive stuck behind some buildings but it put you right in the middle of everything - a few minutes here or there & you were in the middle of all the shopping areas, restaurants & for me, really not even 10 mins.away from the college. Seriously a perfect stay!
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catatonic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankie b, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You very much for your positive review, and I am very happy to hear that we impressed you. Hope to see you with us in the future !

Sincerely,
Frankie Butler
53 Jefferson rd
Jacksonville, Fl 32225
904-997-9190
frankie.jaxab@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville East Regency Square
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville I-295/East Beltway
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Merril Road
Candlewood Suites East Merril Ro...
#72 of 133 in Jacksonville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach
13.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
Address: 53 Jefferson Rd, Hwy 9A & Atlantic Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32225-6743 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville East, just off Interstate 295 and Atlantic Boulevard. Whether visiting us for business or pleasure, we are the hotel for you! Centrally located between downtown Jacksonville and Jacksonville Beach, you are never far from work or play. Our guests can come and enjoy a home away from home in our spacious rooms or host a meeting in our 564 square foot meeting space. Each guest room includes our Holiday Inn Express plush bedding, a seating area, work space, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Certain rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and sleeper sofas. Guests may also enjoy complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel, access to our multi-computer on site business center and our signature Express Start hot breakfast. We also boast an outdoor pool, a 24 hour fitness center, as well as an agreement with LA Fitness where our Guests receive complimentary access to all its state of the art equipment. The Holiday Inn Express is just miles away from Jacksonville Beach, the St. Johns Town Center, Everbank Field and downtown Jacksonville. With continuous outdoor festivals, live music concerts, sporting events, theater productions and scenic views, Jacksonville is not only the largest city in the United States, it is always exciting! Jacksonville Beach offers beautiful views of our coastal city, movies under the moon light in the summers, and a wealth of night life and dinning. The St. Johns Town Center gives travelers the best shopping and restaurant options Jacksonville has to offer. Everbank Field is home to the Jacksonville Jaguars and is just a quick and easy 7 mile drive from the hotel, so drop in and catch a game! Getting into downtown Jacksonville is also very accessible to our location. You can have dinner on the beautiful St. Johns River at the Landing, enjoy the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) or stop by the Museum of Science and History (MOSH). Visit the historic districts of Riverside, San Marco and Avondale, rebuilt after the Great Fire of 1902. This eclectic area offers travelers the opportunity to see Jacksonville's local artists at work during the Riverside Arts Market every weekend. You can also enjoy the many local restaurants in the area to experience the unique atmosphere and flavors found here in Jacksonville, this Bold New City of the South! Our professional and friendly staff is always here to welcome you to the hotel and Jacksonville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing