We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican food prized right”
Review of Pepe's Hacienda

Pepe's Hacienda
Ranked #530 of 2,026 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: 904-636-8131
Restaurant details
Description: 904-636-8131
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food prized right”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've been on the hunt for good Mexican eateries in town and this one qualifies for something authentic and close to home cooked meals. It's also shares space with a Latino grocery/convenient store. Others may find this weird but I don't really care. I would have given this 5 stars if not for the so-so chips that they serve prior to the meal. I got a lengua taco and it was awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Horrible”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I ordered a burrito and it had chicken bones in it. Never going back and advise you stay as far away from this place as possible

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaxAtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have enjoyed eating at Pepe's on several occasions, from dinner with friends, to take out lunches. I recommend "Taco's Pepe" on corn tortillas, which are the regular taco with the addition of a big slice of avocado and Mexican cheeses. Did I mention plenty of cilantro?
You know you are in the right place when you look around at dinner and most of your fellow diners are Mexican. The prices are very reasonable, and the service has always been prompt and courteous. I highly recommend it, and will drive out of my way to eat there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neFL_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Prices”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have eaten at Pepe's 4 or 5 times and every time the food has been great. No complaints. Service, not bad, but they do make everything fresh, no re-heating. The shop has everything Latin that you might want from Pinas to pinatas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acharya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best authentic Mexican in Jax”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place is really something else. They sell everything from piñatas, cowboy boots, tripe, tamales, and chocolate sauce. They really are the package deal. It's basically a full Mexican grocery store, fresh meat counter included. On the other side of the grocery, they have a restaurant. Best. Mexican. Food. Ever. This isn't Tex-Mex, Cal-Mex, or Mexican American...this is the real deal (double wrapped corn tortilla, cilantro/onion, lime wedge). Check it out, you won't regret it. It's the only authentic Mexican food in Jacksonville.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe's Hacienda also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Pepe's Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing