We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna

Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Atlantic Boulevard
Description: Taverna specializes in seasonal European cuisine heavily influenced by Italy and Spain using the freshed local ingredients.Our wine selection mirrors this philosphy with a focus on terroir driven wines from Spain and Italy and an emphasis on quality.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

As usual the food did not disappoint and the service was outstanding. With the recent expansion table location is an issue. We made reservations well in advance and the restaurant was not crowded when we arrived. The first seat offered for our group of 4 was by the hostess stand at a high top and across from a large noisy group. Not exactly where we wanted to dine with friends from out of town. The hostess graciously gave us another table which was in the back of the new section. Perhaps on a busy night with other patrons it would be okay but the room is dark gray with curtains and felt like a room off stage at the theater. The room atmosphere put a damper on an otherwise excellent meal. We will return but will be more specific in requesting a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    87
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After all these years they still can't figure it out. Now they decided to add lunch service.

Note to self - when you pay nearly $15 for a lunch size pizza, it needs to have more than a "hint" of ingredients and more than just paper thin and burnt. Also, why were the Basil leaves off the pizza and in the corner of the take-out box?

Also ordered a Chicken + Caesar. I believe that means chicken is part of the salad and should be visible. None was located.

Finally, when you offer a burger it is probably a bad idea to have the bun 25 - 50% larger in diameter to the meat. A dead give-away to another $15 lunch menu item.

Not worth the price I was over-charged.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelMavenUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have dined at Taverna in San Marco many times. This trendy spot in the middle of San Marco is a lovely space with intimate feel and great food. The pasta is outstanding as is the pizza and exceptional French Fries. The fish and salads are good as well. Actually, none of us have ever hand a bad meal at Taverna and you won't either.

When the weather is nice the outdoor seating is great as you watch the eclectic mix of locals and tourists pass by.

Be sure to make a reservation. It is well worth the drive from around Jacksonville and San Marco is a fun place to shop or see a movie or play.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HighTimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Revising my previous review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Earlier this year (March) I visited Taverna and had a few issues with my dinner. However, after I posted my review the Manager contacted me and asked me what I had an issue with. After I told him he invited me back with a gift certificate. This I really appreciated. I did not have a chance to go back there until Mid- October.
This time everything thing was perfect for our little going away party for a friend. From the wine, appetizers (cheese and meat platter and hummus with bread), our salads (the spinach one) to the pasta....each and everyone was great. The atmosphere was pleasant and we had a nice waitstaff that was prompt and friendly.
We will definitely return. Thanks Brian : o )

P.S. Reservations are good idea if you are going on a weekend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple menu with amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

It was a nice day out so we grabbed a table out in front of the restaurant. The waiter was friendly and always on top of things. I tend to like unique food and it looking at the menu nothing really jumped out at me. I ended up choosing the hangar steak with Parmesan Frites for my Entree. We also tried the sautéed Calimari as an appetizer. The Calimari was to die for! It had a very robust flavor and the black olives and tomatoes with it were a great blend. The Hangar steak was well prepared and the frites were fantastic. This definitely ranks as one of my favorites in Jax.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank herschelw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing