We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but Same old menu since they've opened”
Review of Taverna

Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 2,001 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Atlantic Boulevard
Description: Taverna specializes in seasonal European cuisine heavily influenced by Italy and Spain using the freshed local ingredients.Our wine selection mirrors this philosphy with a focus on terroir driven wines from Spain and Italy and an emphasis on quality.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but Same old menu since they've opened”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place has good food but the regular diners don't go back as often now because they just don't change their menus.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheers526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    87
    28
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SO Worthwhile”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Taverna is located within a couple of miles of our house so we go there fairly often. Also of note, they have a lovely outside seating area that is dog friendly - they even bring you a bowl of water for your doggie dining companion. The service here is excellent. The staff know the menu, the wine list and what looks especially good that night. They are happy to provide an opinion when asked. The menu isn't particularly long, and I often will get 2 appetizers, or an appetizer and salad for my dinner, which is just about the right amount of food. They also have a (and I cannot spell this to save my soul) charcuterie (meats and cheese) platter where you choose the cheeses and/or meats that you want to try. This comes beautifully presented, and if you aren't familiar with any of the choices your server will be happy to offer suggestions. They do not have salt and pepper on the tables, but they will be happy to provide them when asked.

They have a nice bar area where I have seen people eating. The only problem with this area is that it is located right next to a row of tables. When a group of people comes in looking to have a few drinks and conversation, those table nearby can be fairly loud.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsmom32207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where's the service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Judging by the reviews, it must have been a bad day. We don't often leave a restaurant after being seated but we did the other day. It was lunch time and busy but there were still a lot of staff scurrying around. Not one, except the person behind the bar, made eye contact with us as we stood inside the door. She looked, but promptly returned to polishing the glasses. Finally, the hostess came in and told us she would be with us as soon as she finished whatever she was doing. Then she came back, apologized for the delay and seated us. We waited, and waited, and waited and left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinclair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Blah”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Was very excited to finally have a girls night out.....The server/waiter was excellent, they had a great wine list, nice atmosphere, great appetizers, MEAL WAS HORRIBLE. The food (Steak and truffle fries) were cold when they were served. For the price we were paying we should've had warm food!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Should be oh so much better”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'd heard wonderful things about this restaurant and decided to (finally) give it a try. Beautifully decorated with comfy seats and good lighting. It became louder as the evening wore on and weekends are probably unbearably loud. Unfortunately, the rest of the experience went downhill. Starting with the beers -- which they advertise on-line as having local draft beers, and they did have Intuition and Bold City on tap, but only 4 choices and all stouts and ales. Fortuitously, it was half-price pizza Monday, so we decided to give them a try. Soggy bottoms and 4 slices of basil on the margherita did not make for an appetizing dinner. I was impressed with the service -- attentive and friendly -- but bad marks when I asked for the remaining pizza to be boxed to take home. The remaining 4 slices were rolled up and tossed in a very small plastic container. It was a mish-mash of cheesy goo that went into the trash when I got home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsurumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing