We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere!”

Miller's Ale House Southside
Ranked #79 of 2,029 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Miller's Ale House restaurant provides top-quality food at a great value in a casual neighborhood tavern atmosphere. Choose between New York Strip, lobster, original pastas, fresh salads and favorites like Zingers(R) boneless wings and homemade desserts. Our full-service bar features more than 75 beers, plus wine and liquor. About Miller's Ale House.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've eaten at this Ale House many times (once you've been to one, you've been to all) and I really enjoy it. The food is not amazing-it's really a bar that serves food rather than a restaurant that serves alcohol. But there are some winners! I really like the Thai chicken and their Zingers (Parmesan Garlic! YUM!) and their desserts are really good too. I went during my birthday week and should have gotten my Birthday Treat... Otherwise! The drink specials are really good. I don't drink beer but they always have good beer/bucket/pitcher specials.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    52
    30
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nothing special, but nothing bad. A good beer inventory and a bar that brings the outdoors, inside. Walking from some hotels.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank n2bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Slow”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Slow services but good drink specials probably only go back if no where else to go. It was that slow.

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindseylove1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Birthday Place!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Jacksonville (Miller's) Ale House off Southside Blvd is a pretty standard establishment - a sports bar/grill, with typical offerings and service.

What keeps our group coming back is the reliability (good lunch specials, affordable and served promptly) and the Ale House's "Birthday Treat!"

With 4 to 6 people in our birthday group, Jacksonville Ale House is the hands-down fave! Ale house has no problem splitting the birthday celebrant's bill among the others in the group, thus avoiding insufferable calculations on napkins.

But best of all, is the complementary brownie and ice cream cake for the celebrants. It's easily enough to share between 6 or more - especially after the hearty lunch.

Jacksonville Ale House has been our favorite birthday place for years. Give it a try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeGoneHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A better bar than restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place gets packed on a Friday evening. The food isn't that great, but there is a huge menu so there is plenty to choose from. There are always some sort of drink specials. There is very large outdoor bar/patio where smoking is allowed, which was nice. It's not gourmet, but if you are looking for a place to grab a drink with some friends then it isn't a bad option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supercat912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Ale House Southside also viewed

 

Been to Miller's Ale House Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing