We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst of the worst!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cinco de Mayo

Cinco de Mayo
Ranked #1,316 of 1,995 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst of the worst!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Tonight we visited the newly opened Cinco de Mayo restaurant located on Atlantic Blvd. in Jacksonville. It is very attractive on the inside, and very clean. However, those are the only positive comments that can be made.
We ordered drinks firs-one of our party ordered a glass of wine, another a margarita with salt and the other iced tea. The margarita came but was all mix-no flavor at all, and the salt marginally visible. The glass of wine had to be requested again, as the waitress forgot it. It arrived with cork pieces floating in it. The salsa arrived with decent chips that were at least served warm. The salsa was thin, watery tomato liquid from a can with no flavor at all, and no texture either.
When the nachos that we had ordered arrived with steak fajita meat, the meat was so tough that it was inedible. It was also hard and barely warm. The nachos were soggy and all stuck together in one pasty heap on the plate, served with a big slice of unchopped tomato sitting in the middle on the top.When you tried to pick the chips up they were soaking wet and so soggy they just fell apart. We had asked that the sour cream be served on the side-it wasn't, and when we mentioned this to our server, her comment was "sorry about that", as she walked away.Burritoes with Mexican chil arrived, covered with a tomato-based sauce that had no chili flavor whatsoever, just big clumps of hamburger meat in an orange sauce. We then requested to see the manager, who offered to bring other food but, alas, we had enough of this establishment and were more than ready to leave. We thought the entire meal should have been comped, but again, nothing was removed from the bill.
This was the sorriest excuse for Mexican food that we have ever experienced in Jacksonville. We will NEVER go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bus153ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    22
    18
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Craving Mexican in the downtown area?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

While in town for a conference, my friend and I had a craving for Mexican food. Not being able to get very far, we walked to the Landing from our hotel. Cinco de Mayo is a restaurant within the complex.

We decided to eat outside since the weather was nice. She ordered fish tacos, and I ordered a pina colada and shrimp nachos. We had the traditional chips and salsa. The chips were different; I can't put my finger on it. Was it the oil they used? Were the chips thicker than what I've had in Kansas/Missouri? They were edible, and we ate them up. I did not use the salsa (gives me heartburn) but my friend said it was good.

When the food came out, it was hot and beautiful! She had tons of fish in her fish tacos...so much that they fell out while she was eating it. They also served beans and rice with it, along with stuff to dress the taco with (tomatoes, lettuce, cheese.)

My shrimp tacos were da bomb! The shrimp were quite large and the taste was phenomenal. The melty cheese to the peppers and onions....I was tempted to order one to go and eat it later!

Our waiter was nice and promptly refilled out glasses of soda pop and water. It did not take too long to get our food.

So if you're downtown and cannot get away from the area for long periods of time, this would be a good place to go when you're craving Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KorriBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not the quality I expected given the location on the waterfront and near several upscale hotels.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was ok. Chips were a little greasy and the silverware was only marginally clean. My chimichanga was pretty good, could have been crispier and/or the chicken filling and salad on top could have been drier.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinquin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Refreshing surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

What a fun restaurant that has everything - strong drinks, good food and a nice view. We had two dishes, one with ground beef and on with shredded chicken. The meat was so flavorful and tasty. This was just a solid restaurant. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamrickpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican food Done Well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to the new Cinco de Mayo on Atlantic Blvd. for lunch. I had the Speedy Gonzales which was done very well. A friend had the Quesadilla and said it was very good. Also the taco salad went over very well. Prices are reasonable. A pleasant surprise when the bill came was that the Speedy Gonzales was on special for $3.98 that day! Such a deal! Will go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaNita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinco de Mayo also viewed

 

Been to Cinco de Mayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing