We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good hotel--just not a good neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a good hotel--just not a good neighborhood”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

HGI's are my favorite hotel, but this particular hotel is located across the street from two noisy bars/clubs that put out a drone beat late into the night. If one can be on the side away from King Street, you could be OK. But this neighborhood is not the best. I would recommend staying at other HGI's while in JAX.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank CocoaTom125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear CocoaTom125,


Thank you for sharing your feedback about your most recent stay. I am sorry that our noisy neighbors made your stay less enjoyable. We are glad to see that we were able to provide great service inside the building. We hope you will give us another opportunity to stay with us in the future. Have a great day....


Sincerely,

David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    189
    70
    38
    16
See reviews for
138
108
31
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

They have really made some improvements. The lobby is wonderful. At certain times of the day they have wonderful refreshments to greet their guest. the rooms are beautiful and the staff excellent. the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank BAR1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear BAR1574,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our latest lobby renovation! We truly appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a wonderful day...


Kind Regards,

David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My stay at the Hilton Garden Inn is by far the best hotel experience during our summer convention hotel stays thus far. I have been attending conventions for 43 years starting with a family of seven to now down to just two; husband and self. This stay was truly the best quality, best service, and amenities. We will stay there again whenever the circumstances permit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Rosa B.,


I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive every day to make memorable experiences for our guests, and it seems like this time we did. We appreciate your business, and look forward to having you back in the future. Have a great day!


Sincerely,

David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I always stay at this Hilton Garden Inn when traveling through Jacksonville. The location is very close to the river front and I enjoy the dinning and shops on the river. The staff and management is super and very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Danny K,


Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at our hotel. I am so glad to hear that everyone you encountered during your stay provided great service. We definitely like being close to the St. Johns river for a nice walk in the morning. Thank you again for your business!


Kind Regards,

David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not a bad hotel to stay at, I really miss their cookies..Not a bad distance from the airport. Being down town was nice. Overall I may stay here if I went to JAX again. Ask for a room above the 6th floor for really nice room

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Joseph S,



Thank you for taking the time to tell Tripadvisor travelers about your stay. I am so glad to hear that you enjoy our location downtown in the lovely San Marco area. I am sorry that the cookies are no longered offer, but I feel our new "welcome" bars are a healthier option for that late night snack. Once again thank you for your feedback, and have a great day!


Sincerely,

David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Front desk service was excellent, however, the dinning room service was terrible. You do have to pay extra to park your car. Would not walk around the area outside at night however, does have easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Joanna M,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience in the restaurant was not what you expect from a Hilton property. I will be sharing your feedback with our team so we can work together to make sure it does not happen in the future. If you have the time to share your feedback I would be happy to speak with you. Please contact me at the hotel so I can better understand what transpired. The phone number for the hotel is 904-396-6111. Once again I apologize for the experience you had in our restaurant, and want you to know I am personally addressing the issue. I hope you have a great day.


David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stay at this hotel frequently for Jaguars games, business, and more. It is always very clean, the staff is attentive, and the pool is fantastic. The breakfast is fabulous, and always has a large selection of fresh fruit. Rooms are good sized for a downtown hotel, and love the fresh duvets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPAMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear TPAMomma,


Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at our hotel. We truly value your business, and truly appreciate you coming back to see our Jacksonville Jaguars play! Next time you are in town please ask for me I would love to meet you! Have a wonderful day!


Sincerely,


David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#13 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
0.3 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Address: 1201 Kings Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32207-8686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#33 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly constructed, uniquely designed Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown / Southbank hotel is located in the trendy San Marco area just minutes from the heart of downtown Jacksonville, and only 20 minutes from the Jacksonville International Airport. Most rooms offer a beautiful city or river view. The hotel is adjacent to Jacksonville's Skyway rapid transit system to facilitate your commute. The Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown / Southbank is the perfect corporate housing venue while in the Southbank area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing