We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth’s Chris Steak House

Ruth’s Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth’s Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,919 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flagler
IL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to several Ruth Chris Steak House's but the steak here was disappointing. For some reason it just didn't have the taste that it would usually have. It was cooked just the way I ordered it but lacked some flavor. Service was excellent as usual. The view of the river was great too. Plan on spending some money here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    83
    37
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time at Ruth's Chris and we could not be more pleased with the experience. The steaks are perfection, as they should be, the appetizers, salads, and sides are great. The sides are definitely shareable (good portions) so keep that in mind when ordering. The wine list has something nice for every price range and the desserts are delicious. You cannot beat the fabulous view of the river and downtown, especially at night when the bridge is lit up. It is what you expect from a fine dining restaurant, we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FLAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roan Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

You cannot get a better cut of beef in Jacksonville than here. Superb service and great setting on the water. Decor is what you expect from this upscale restaurant. Drinks are a little stiff, no pun intended and expect to pay over $100 for drinks, meal and tip for two. One of the few places where you say that it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aces4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always good food...Servers too comfortable with customers though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The food here is always good. It comes out promptly and I have never had to send anything back. The atmosphere is nice, on the river, overlooking the downtown. My only complaint would be that the servers seem to feel that they are somehow a part of your tables conversation. On three occasions with three different groups visiting utilizing three different servers I noticed that they attempted to join in on what the table was discussing uninvited which is inappropriate in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Love It! Best Steak in Jacksonville w/ a Stunning View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love this place! It's a beautiful view of the River City and the food is always fantastic. It's what you expect to receive when you are paying $100+ for dinner. You leave feeling you received a wonderful experience with fabulous food and the money paid was well worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth’s Chris Steak House also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Ruth’s Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing