We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food...Servers too comfortable with customers though”

Ruth’s Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth’s Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,027 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flagler
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always good food...Servers too comfortable with customers though”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The food here is always good. It comes out promptly and I have never had to send anything back. The atmosphere is nice, on the river, overlooking the downtown. My only complaint would be that the servers seem to feel that they are somehow a part of your tables conversation. On three occasions with three different groups visiting utilizing three different servers I noticed that they attempted to join in on what the table was discussing uninvited which is inappropriate in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    106
    54
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Love It! Best Steak in Jacksonville w/ a Stunning View”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love this place! It's a beautiful view of the River City and the food is always fantastic. It's what you expect to receive when you are paying $100+ for dinner. You leave feeling you received a wonderful experience with fabulous food and the money paid was well worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First class service at its best!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Tyler and the manager here are absolutely wonderful..we have been here three times and this time for some reason the chef just couldn't get my husbands steak right. After 3 steaks they achieved success. Gave us free desert and the waiter Tyler was very sincere about our experience. Still a satisfied Ruth Chris customer. First class service at its best!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHickox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the better Ruth's Chris Steakhouses I have been to”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Food quality was great, as it has been at every one of these restaurants - what differentiated this place was the outstanding service, from the greeting at the entrance through the entire meal I was given really topnotch but not overbearing service. I was very pleasantly surprised really because the Crown Plaza that this great restaurant is attached to is very mediocre in every way (I was staying there at the time). Lovely view of the river too! Would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iggyp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

One of the best steak houses around - as always. Yes, it's pricey but everyone knows that going in the door. For us - we just like good service and good steaks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveandKathyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth’s Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth’s Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing