We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Plantation.”

Kingsley Plantation
Ranked #5 of 171 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
810 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Interesting Plantation.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came here not knowing what to expect and were happy we did. The history of the various families who owned the plantation was fascinating. Including the owner who married one of his slaves and the contortions they had to go thru to stay together. Its a little out of town but worth the drive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    190
    42
    13
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“interesting but not much to see”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

From other reviews, I see you can get a tour of the house if you plan ahead, but we pulled in at a spur of the moment whim and pretty much everything inside is closed. You can walk the grounds and visit a small (12 by 8) museum next to a gift shop. The park 'ranger' in the gift shop was not very helpful and never offered the tour or anything about the grounds or buildings. All of the ground displays offered were pictures and articles on slave abuse, but the museum described how Mr. Kingsley went out of the way to protect his slaves and assist them in earning their freedom. He even married a slave and she in turn assisted him with this endeavor. Interesting to see but barely worth the 3+ drive out on an unpaved pot-holed gravel road. Stop only if time, not worth a special trip to see. PS free to see so the price was what it was worth.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cookeville_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“can't even go inside anywhere”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

You can go in the visitor's center and a barn and one room inside another area. I twisted my husband's arm to go and regret it- look at the pictures on here and that's all you're pretty much going to see there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank clare k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Historic site”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A bit of a drive , but interesting way to speand a couple of hours. Oldest standing plantation in Florida with a bit of a quirky history, some of which is spooty or unknown Viewing of home by reservation only, but recommended. Be sure to ask questions and take the self guided tour of the slave quarters.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kaw54realestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida/North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have visited the Plantation several times. The trip out there is pretty as well. There is ample parking and nice trails as well as the Plantation itself. Good place to take visitors to our area (Jacksonville) as well a children to teach some history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lauramilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingsley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Kingsley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing