We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth A Trip”

Museum of Science and History
Ranked #19 of 171 things to do in Jacksonville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about area Native American cultures here.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Not Worth A Trip”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I drove from Gainesville to visit this 'museum', and found it a waste of time. The intellectual target level for the MOSH must be 12 or 13 years old, at the highest, maybe only 8. Or maybe I am insulting 8-year olds. It will both bore and annoy grown-ups. Even the children I observed did not seem much engaged, and instead were spending their time running about and screaming. The running is a puzzle, because most museums do not permit that kind of behavior due to liability concerns. The screaming was annoying the few adults present who were not their keepers.

The place looks like a rejected bit of Disneyworld got loose from the trash heap in Orlando and drifted down the St. Johns River, to wash up on the shore in Jacksonville.

There is not coherent theme in this place. Just exhibits placed in seeming random order. And the staff must not include many scientists, because the number of technical errors and inaccurate information panels was high. The Energy exhibits contained several information panels which were more political in content than scientific. The exhibit on glass recycling was done by someone who had not a single clue how this activity happens.

What a waste of money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    130
    72
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Aptly named?”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

MOSH is always a hit for the preschoolers, particularly the gift shop and free tree play area at the entrance. On a more serious side, the small, albeit limited, MOSH should probably be referred to strictly as a children's museum rather than "Science and History". It is replete with hands on exhibits (although each visit tends to find an increasing number that are simple not working) and live animals to view and, occasionally, touch. The science and history parts tend to be static and interesting the first 1 or 2 viewings. The shows tend to be geared for young school age children. Worth a visit.....sure but it sure could use an infusion of personality for the staff and a little more care as to the working (or non-working) order of things.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a great preschool age museum.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I will preface my review with the fact that I have 2 preschoolers. There was not enough to keep their attention for it to be worth it (time wise) and in saying this we have tried to go several times. I have high standards being that I grew up with COSI in Columbus, OH, and nothing that I have seen has compared to that, but my kids were more interested in the gift shop and the tree play area in the front than the exhibits. The Body Within is great when everything works but it is a bit over little kid’s heads. The Loft Gallery usually holds exhibits that are geared toward adult interests. The Currents of Time exhibit is daunting for adults to see how common items that we grew up with are now being placed into museums like a time capsule. I mean this as humor. It was funny having to explain to my kids what a phone booth was. Older kids would like this more as would adults. When we were there not everything in the Atlantic Tails exhibit worked either. It is not a bad small museum but I was expecting more being in a big city like Jacksonville. MOSH is better for older kids and adults.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GABuckeye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a hit with the kids! ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Very small, kid oriented and hands on. Animals are always fun to see and the section on the history of Jacksonville is interesting.

Helpful?
Thank SOJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Not very large, but enough to kill a couple an hour. The best part was when they brought out a live turtle to walk around the reptile exhibit.

Helpful?
Thank Toe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and History also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing