We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend a few hours”

Museum of Science and History
Ranked #18 of 168 things to do in Jacksonville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about area Native American cultures here.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The MOSH is a three story building with an excellent exhibit of early Jacksonville, the story of the St. John's river and a science exhibit about asteroids and meteorites. Next time I plan to take my grandson, I know he will love it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvsviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    127
    70
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great new Extreme Science Show”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The JEA Science Theater has been renovated since we were there last and they have done a really nice job. The show was great- there was lots of kid participation. We are looking forward to going back again soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deremer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Minimum Cost”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just moved to JAX and my 8-yr old boy just loves, loves, loves museums. While way smaller than the Duetsches Museum in Munich (where we last lived), it is easily digestible in an afternoon or morning for an 8-yr old. Lots of "hands-on" stuff and the museum is really "kid sized." We have not yet seen the planetarium but will, and I will update once we do. We bought an annual family membership and will be back time and again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Laser light show”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Took my boys to go see the Metallica laser light show in the planetarium and it was really awesome! The music was thumping and the lasers were way cooler than I expected. They have 4 different bands every Friday night and it's cheap, only $5 a person. Great way to spend an hour!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terpmama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not one to frequent museums on vacation (especially in FL.) we were so glad we did - not only for ourselves but for our 9-yr. old grand-daughter as well. Interesting for all ages. Just a little challenging to get to it....glad our daughter (who lives in J-ville) drove.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and History also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing