We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, walk in shower, and breakfast. Troublesome checkin and reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Big Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great room, walk in shower, and breakfast. Troublesome checkin and reservations”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stay at Hyatt Place every chance I get. Exceptional rooms, amenities and a great complementary breakfast. But a few issues emerged during this visit. When I checked in I had to go look for the desk clerk, and the same situation when I checked out. The breakfast cook checked me out. Perhaps a little short staffed?

Making the reservations presented some confusion. I reserved the room online on what I thought was the Hyatt Place Jacksonville website. That’s what I Googled and it looked exactly like the Hyatt Place Jacksonville website. I normally don’t use travel firms like Expedia because I can usually get more room choices, the same rate or better with no booking fees, and it eliminates a “middle man” if I have to make a change. A few days before my stay I noted two charges on my credit card statement I didn’t recognize. One was from TSP EAN Travel US and the other was ROOMSTAYSCOM. Further investigation revealed that the posts were for my Hyatt Place stay posted by outside travel entities and nowhere was Hyatt Place reservations indicted. Plus one of the posts from Roomstayscom was for booking fees that Hyatt claims they do not charge. Charges were posted in advance which I don't like. Upon check in, I asked if Hyatt was now outsourcing its reservations and charging booking fees. I was also concerned that charges appeared on my credit card before my stay which had never happened with Hyatt reservation before. The clerk said that someone had hacked my reservation request, confirmed that Hyatt doesn’t charge booking fees, and said she would follow up to see if the booking fee could be refunded. I never heard anything further. The lesson here is I must be especially careful that the webpage I am on is really the one I think I am on. The reservation debacle was probably my fault for not paying close enough attention to the website extensions. You really have to be careful out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFRTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the feedback. I am so glad that overall you had a good stay. I am very sorry for the confusion with the reservation and check in process. We have had this happen before on occasion but we think we have the issue fixed. Again, I apologize for any confusion and please know that Hyatt.com does not have any booking fees. Thank you again for the feedback as it is our pleasure to exceed your expectations on your future stays.
Yours in Hospitality,

Stacy Manthos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    215
    98
    57
    41
See reviews for
286
175
65
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We typically always stay at this hotel when flying out of JAX. It is clean, the staff is friendly, it has good food options and the rooms are huge! I had made a reservation for 9/25, checking out the next morning, and then another reservation for 10/1 as our flight was getting in late that night. The person who checked us in was very friendly and made sure we were all set up for the 10/1 reservation as well. When we arrived back that night the front desk staff made sure to ask us if we wanted anything to eat or drink and were prompt and courteous picking us up from the airport. It is well worth the money to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am so glad that you are a repeat guest with us! I am glad to hear that you stay with us while traveling through Jacksonville. We really try and exceed the expectations of our guests! I will certainly pass along your comments to the staff and let them know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Stacy Manthos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport for a family gathering. I couldn't have been more please with the customer service. Jessica was extremely when I checked in, and checked me out expeditiously when I left. Rita was also a pleasure to work with. Not only were the rooms immaculate and modern; the overall feel of hotel was that of luxury and cleanliness. Additionally, the ladies who prepared the breakfast for the a.m. Skillet were beyond helpful and attentive. The food was excellent!! Furthermore, there was not one staff member that I encountered that did not speak to me or offer to provide me any assistance that I may need. Also, the hotel was conveniently located near the interstate,several popular restaurants, and several retail stores. When I am in the Jacksonville area again, hands down this will be my hotel choice. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with this hotel. This was definitely a superb value for the price!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that your stay exceeded your expectations. We take customer service very seriously and I am so glad the staff took care of you! I hope your travels will bring you back to Jacksonville, as we would love to see you again! Yours in Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family held a function in the area and we had an excellent experience from the front desk to the shuttle driver. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable along with adequate towels and accessories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am so glad you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your review and hope that your travels bring you back to Jacksonville. We would love to see you again and take car of you while you are away from home. Yours in Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in the Jax area. It's only other competitor is Aloft but the Aloft is more modern. I like the room layout, a sectioned off living room from the beds. The Hyatt Place is more for business travellers. I like the huge flat screen with all the techno-hookups. This hotel is also situated away from hotel row and diagonally across from a Waffle House. Breakfast options are modernized: like a ciabatta with bacon, cheese and egg, or a vegetarian mushroom/cheese hot sandwich. They very good coffee (from Italy). There's food available for purchase 24x7. The front desk is loaded with many varieties of dessert for takeaway or to eat and soda. Service is good not 4or5star, adequate.

I like the breakfast setup. It feels like a modern kitchen with tables and stools and seating outside too

Con: No bathtub, No microwave. Beds are on the firm side.

Visits: 10+

Room Tip: Rooms facing the fields are relaxing and of course ask for a higher floor during checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We changed the breakfast options a couple of months ago and it is great to get the feedback that you enjoyed it. I hope that when you are in Jacksonville, you will come and stay with us again. We love our repeat guests.
Yours in Hospitality.
Stacy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

very pleased we chose this hotel, it was a lovely big room with separate sitting area and huge TV, staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was yummy (I can recommend the ham and egg on English muffin, already made up and waiting for you) and at the price we paid, amazing value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hyatt Place. We really try to exceed the expectations for our guests! I hope that if you are back in Jacksonville you will come and stay with us again. We love our repeat guests.

Yours in Hospitality,
Stacy Manthos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rarely stay at Hyatts but tried this one because of location and price. The people at the front desk were friendly. I had reserved an accessible room and they put us in a nonaccessible, but that was quickly remedied. The room was certainly big but just average as far as anything goes. The sink was in a weird spot, quite a ways from the bathroom across from the beds. I guess I expected a little more upper class from a Hyatt as far as furnishings and decor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank girlcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your stay. I apologize if your stay was less than you expected.

We do have a different layout in some of our rooms and I would be pleased to assign you to one of these on your next trip.

Please contact me when you are back in the Jacksonville Airport area and I will be happy to assign you to one of these rooms.

Yours in Hospitality,
Stacy Manthos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville-Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville Airport
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport
Address: 14565 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218-2494
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#50 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport is the newest property in the area. Hyatt Place offers complimentary shuttle service to and from Jacksonville International Airport. 127 well appointed rooms with a 42 inch HD television set, the Hyatt Grand Bed, and 24 hour food service all are yours at the Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing