We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant staff, breakfasts and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
Ranked #30 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant staff, breakfasts and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Price is great for the service included. Staff is pleasant, breakfasts great... right down to the little mints on the nightstand. Fabulous gal was Shawnessy. I was having problems with a reservation made on phone threw another company and she stood by me and straightened it all out. She goes above and beyond to please the guests. Don't lose her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirWilliamOwinCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisjaxfl, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review, we strive to do our best and I definitely will share these great comments with Shawnessy, she is a major asset to our company. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope that we will see you again in the future.

Thanks
Chirag Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    78
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
146
51
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My employer requires that I travel frequently and on a recent assignment to Jacksonville, I chose the Country Inn because it was close to the site I was working on and the price was in line with my budget. Upon checking in a young man was working the front desk and checked me in. The check in process seemed to take about 10 minutes while the front desk clerk told me about his personal life and how he needed a credit card.

Once checked in the room and hotel seemed to be clean if a little dated. I had no troubles during my stay however after I checked out I noticed that I had been charged $135.48, in addition to the room rate of $148 for two nights for my stay which was booked and paid for through Hotels.com.

I contacted the hotel once I arrived home and they told me that my card was charged twice for incidentials in error. At this point it has been over a week since my stay and my money still has not been returned.

I have another assignment in Jacksonville this coming week and I did NOT book with Country Inn again because of their irresponsible handling of my funds.

Room Tip: Do not give them a credit card to place incidentials on...better to give them a cash deposit. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisjaxfl, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Good Afternoon Mr. Rich G.,

It sounds like you booked your room on a 3rd party website Expedia, Hotels.com etc. It is a policy of the hotel to authorize a card for incidentals. I would like to rectifiy the situation because we are not a fraudelent business where just double charge people. We you actually charged the 135.48 or was it just held on the card that you provided at check in?? Did the authorization drop off?? Please give me a call at 904-772-7771 so we can further discuss this and that we can make sure you are satisfied with the outcome of the situation.

Thank you,
Chirag Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel while visiting friends over in Ponte Vedra. We chose it because we know the continental breakfasts at Country Inn & Suites are great. We were definitely not disappointed. Very good choices and lots of variety. Scrambled eggs, seasoned potatoes, bacon, oatmeal, cereal, toast, etc. Very friendly and helpful staff in the breakfast room. Go early as it fills up fast and only has about 8-10 tables. Breakfast is from 7-10:30 which is nicer than some that end at 9.
Hotel was immaculate inside and out, very pretty and nicely furnished. We stayed in the rooms that have the king bed in one room with a door and then a couch and chair in the front area that folds out into a bed. Perfect for us since we had one of our children's friends with us. It gave us adults some privacy while changing and sleeping.
Pool is posted that it is only open until 6 but if you ask at the front desk they can keep it open longer for you with no problem. Front desk even let my daughter use their inner tube which was very nice. Pool is not huge but is a nice relief to the heat and is located on the east side of the hotel so it is shaded in the late afternoon.
Staff was great and very accommodating when we needed extra towels, shampoo and conditioner.
Room was clean, neat and had everything we needed.
Pillows were awful though :( Not sure why but it seems all the Country Inns we have stayed at have the same pillows? Bring your own though, seriously, or you may not sleep well. I am not that picky but these made my head feel like a bowling ball when I laid down. My head sunk all the way to the bottom. Fortunately my husband had brought his from home so I was able to sleep.
Otherwise, I would recommend this to anyone. Plenty of places to eat and shop around it as well as easy on/off of main interstate which made it fast to get to our friends' house.
Jordan was awesome! As was Shaughnessy (I think that was her name?). Shaughnessy was the desk clerk when we checked in and was fabulous. She did tell us all about the Carlton Club and was able to sign us up (it's free) so we could gain points from that stay. I appreciate that since I did not know about it at the hotel we stayed at the previous night. She gave us the option of a 2nd or 3rd floor room and we took the 2nd floor. Heard a little noise from room above (toilets) but otherwise it was quiet.
Jordan was the evening desk manager and was absolutely fabulous at accommodating our extra towel and amenities needs. Very nice and happy to help in any way he could.
We would definitely stay here again when we come back down this way.

Room Tip: room 216 was quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisjaxfl, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for these kind words about or Staff and property. I will definitely be posting this for the whole staff to see. Words like these help us keep wanting to do better for our guests. I will also print this out and give copies to Jordan and Shawnessy, to give them accolades for their great service. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Jacksonville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
276 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very updated, clean, quiet, priced right, great staff--obviously we were very pleased with our visit. We had a very good breakfast. We attended a wedding at the Continental Club just a few miles away--so great location for us. I appreciated the fresh fruit in the lobby. Everything was very classy and we had a good night's sleep. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisjaxfl, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel I will definitely share this with the staff. Comments like these help us keep doing what we are doing on a day to day basis and make us want to do better everyday for our guests.

Thanks you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night on our way to St. Augustine and Legoland at this hotel.

The room was a good size and had a refrigerator and microwave.We were able to get a top floor and didn't hear much noise in the evening.

We were surprised that the outside pool was only opened until 6 pm. I guess that is because it is very close to several guest rooms on the first floor.

It was an adequate breakfast and we always enjoy the cookies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maelrarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, great location, priced right, great staff--obviously we were very pleased with the 2 nights we stayed. Even had to make some changes due to medical changes, and they accommodated that also. They even call an hour after you check in to see if everything was fine, which it was. Also have a very good breakfast included, and cookies avalable for a snack. Would definitely stay again!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Partsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Okay I will start with the ONLY negative, the hallways feel like a furnace & it's July. But considering the fact I won't be sleeping in the hallway I can overlook this.
The rooms are really clean. The check in was smooth. Staff was very friendly. Never, in all my years have I had the front desk call an hour after I check in to see if my room was to my satisfaction==great customer service.
Very convenient location with several places to eat very nearby.
I'm very picky with my hotel staying & I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
8.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
9.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jacksonville Airport
9.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
9.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
Address: 5945 Youngerman Cir E, Jacksonville, FL 32244-6191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville
#16 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#27 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#32 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
Country Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing