We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Ranked #104 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

All i can say is Wow. We had a blast. Love Ya J. I have heard nothing but good comment from everyone. Next year is already in the planning stages. The staff as always was so helpful and the new Waffle machine is the bomb.Super 8 for Life.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpdog32301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are glad to be your home away from home when you visit Jacksonville. You cant go wrong with a complimentary breakfast (fresh waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, toast, fruit, cinnamon rolls, coffee, juice and milk) ! Can't wait to have you back at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    37
    32
    52
See reviews for
51
35
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Im writing this in all fairness the hotel is very reasonable in price the rooms are nice and roomy full cable tv not the newest tvs on the market but they eork as good as any other tv. They have decent breakfast with make your own waffles its quiet and really updated furniture. The 2 biggest hings i see are carpets need to be replace very seriohsly!!! And the biggest is while you can tell the bathrooms are cleaned the shower was absolutly horrible the tile and shower head were nasty totally without question. Maybe they need 1 person to go and strictly clean all the showers and get them looking nice then the place would be looking decent but when you clean the tub and not walls its nof a good sight maybe put new clean covers on the outlets a little paint i think its new management because all the people i seen working there were really nice and seem professional so i doubt they know how nasty they are you do now so grab a brillo pad and get to it and the staff were they were all really nice only thing i went downstairs to get change for the soda pop machine and the overnight guy was sleeping i knocked but no answer. Other wise great stay good value and ill be back in spring id recommend but only if and when they improve the bathroom cleanliness!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevescudadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We value your opinions, and will certainly take action in having these things taken into consideration (looked into)....fixed/updated if need be. I would like to assure you that our housekeepers are professionally trained and are excellent at what they do. We are glad you had a good stay overall!



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ive stayed at this location a number of times its always clean and quiet front desk staff is always nice and helpful they go out of their way to make you feel at home. I even saw the manager help someone to her room with her laundry basket. They really go above and beyond. They have free breakfast incl waffles yogurt cereal toast and honey buns to die for. Everytime i went to the lobby they had coffee ready. Definitely id recommend this hotel. Its conveint to downtown and 95. Ill be back with out a doubt. Hats off to jay hadley tash and aj who all work hard to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_n_brandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We take pride in our customer service! Our desk clerks are not hear because they have to be but rather they want to be and they enjoy the rewarding feeling of helping others...a good way to put it is that the clerks are all "people person". Our goal is to ensure you have a great stay no matter what the occasion! We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I reserved a room with a king size bed, by time I got there the only rooms they had were double beds. The towels look like paper towels that is how thin they were. Then when I woke up from the long trip we had, there was roaches in my room. So, I moved to another Super 8 off of University. There hotel was clean and smelt fresh. If I come back to Jacksonville, Florida that hotel will be the one I stay at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Johnnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Riverwalk
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#84 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown

Property: Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Address: 2228 Phillips Hwy, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207-3590 (Formerly Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area)
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jacksonville
Super Eight Jacksonville
Jacksonville Super Eight
Jacksonville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing