We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Ranked #104 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed November 8, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank tuggerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 172 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank PABLO A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank cl0set0h0me
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed only for one night and I would rather sleep in a car. First of all I reserved a room with a king size bed and with a microwave and refrigerator i even had a printed sheet that said that. When I entered the room I saw that there was no microwave and refrigerator in a room so I went to the front desk and they said that I did not request it, though it was on my reservation sheet. I asked for the refund and they did not want to give me money back. It was 10 p.m and I was so tired that I just agreed for a double beds room with a micro and fridge. Room was terrible. Blenkets were dirty and had holes in it. Refrigerator was dirty and had bugs inside. I wanted to make a cup of coffee but when I opened a coffee maker it looks like it has never been washed, iron was dirty and did not get hot. I did not even take a shower because it was moldy and dirty. When I went outside just to smoke a cigarette I saw a hooker talking to my brother. This is ridiculous!!!! I did not sleep all night ,I even heard people talking about drugs next to my room. I woke up at 6 o'clock and left I could not stay any longer. The reason I stayed there was because it was too late and I had an interview early in a morning. I will never stay there!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We apologize for any and all inconveniences you had at our property. We do have security on staff in the evening to ensure our guest are safe. I have brought the issues mentionted to the attention of staff in each particular department. I do work hard with my staff to ensure that these issues are not re-occuring. Our micro/fridges are based on availabilty. We do hope you return in the future for a more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I'm not kidding about the title. Our stay there was terrifying. All around the perimiter one could easily find drug dealers & hookers (who approached one of the members of my collegues offering to "make him feel real good"). The room was a nightmare. The toilet did not function, the sink handle broke in my hand when turned on, the carpet was moist, the bath towels were the size of dish rags, the room smelled extrememly bad...and to TOP IT ALL OFF we were bitten alive by what appears to have been BED BUGS! Hopefully, we have not contracted anything else from our stay and I must warn everyone DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Rooms are infested with bed bugs and the entire perimiter had hookers and drug dealers around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We would like to apolagize for any inconvenience you had at our hotel. We take bed bugs very seriously, as it is an issue in the hotel industry. We have contacted the pest control service to address this issue. We do have security on site, and survellance camera's on the property to ensure the safety of our guest's. I work hard with my staff to make sure our guest have a pleasant stay. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I guess the old saying you get what you pay for is true. I did get a reduced rate because I am a Wyndham employee but this hotel is awful. I picked it based on the previous reviews. We stayed two nights only because that is what I budgeted our vacation for. The faucet in the sink was dirty, carpet coming up in the corners, pillows were so flat, some of them even had places that looked like they had gotten hot, Ac was not good the first night, hot all night, the next night was ok. It is not in a good neighborhood, but they do have it gated off and only one way in and out and a security guard, but it looks scary around there. Hardly anything for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

I would like to apologize for the issues you had at our hotel. If we were notified of the issue, we will handle it in a timely manner or relocate you to a more acommodating room. We have recently upgraded our breakfast with waffles, yogurt, oatmeal and cinnamon roll's. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you're in Jacksonville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Riverwalk
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
0.9 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#84 of 133 in Jacksonville
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown

Address: 2228 Phillips Hwy, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207-3590 (Formerly Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jacksonville
Super Eight Jacksonville
Jacksonville Super 8
Jacksonville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing