We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotels ok, people staying are morons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Ranked #104 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hotels ok, people staying are morons”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

For the price, the hotel is acceptable. But the surrounding noise from the highway and the idiots peeping horns and slamming doors at 2 am makes it hard to get a good nites sleep. Walls are paper thin. Casual conversations are easily heard. Location is not a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel. Did you inform the front desk about the noise? They could of moved you closer to the frontdesk where its away from the road. We do hope you will choose our Super 8 again where we can make sure your stay is better. I would like to also let you know about The Historic San Marco, that is only blocks away from us. Its a really nice area with Shops and Restaurants. I do recommend going there on your next stay with us. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at (904)396-4090 and ask for Jay or via email at super8central@gmail.com. Thank you for staying at our Super 8 and we look forward to accomodating you on your next visit to Jacksonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    37
    32
    52
See reviews for
51
35
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed two nights for the Gator Bowl. Making, keeping, and getting reservations was not easy. I had a bad feeling and kept calling to confirm reservatoins. First time I called to confrim I was told I didn't have the rooms reserved with a credit card. Second time (the day before leaving) I only had one nights reservation and was supposed to have two. When I got there, I had two rooms, one night and two different confirmation numbers. So far I have not been charged but for one room, two nights. For what we needed the rooms for, they were OK except not very clean. I don't think they swept, mopped or dusted at all. We wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel, just somewhere to sleep. The continental breakfast is what I expected, except they shut it down at 9:00am on weekends, never heard of that. But I can say the staff was very nice and friendly and we didn't have any serious problems. It worked for what we needed it for, just wish it would have been cleaner. And as far as location in relaiton to the stadium, that was AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBoggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I booked this hotel thru Hotwire.com. My sisters and I stayed, we had to change rooms four times. The motel do not have enough equipment to for each room. Not enough T.V.s, mattess, towels, wash clothes, It was not in the downtown area. It was cheap and that is what we got. I will never stay their again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dap45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel. Our rooms are equipt with Iron/Iron Boards, Coffee Maker, Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Full Cable TV with premium channel, and Mirowave and Refridgerator(based on availability). Each of our rooms have 3 sets of towels and if a guest needs more we have it at the front desk. We have New Mattress's in all rooms that were installed a year and half ago. It is unusual that you had this experience at our hotel and would like to talk to you about it. You can email me at super8central@gmail.com or call the hotel at (904)396-4090 and ask for Jay. Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can sort this matter out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisburg, On Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

From the moment we checked in until we left it was really nice experience. We needed something and we were taken care of right away. Only complaint which is minor is they need an elevator or closer stairs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyTravel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Room - Clean, no issues
Location - Quite poor, no public transport, 45 min walk to central Jacksonville, no nightlife mid-week
Security - Isolated motel, good security
Wifi - in-room, excellent quality
Good service and value overall

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2008

It was confusing finding this hotel because you have to go around another hotel to get there. When we arrived, there was a cop in the parking lot so we were wondering about the area. But we found out that he was only there to use the restroom. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was ok. Waffles or something would make it better. Great rooms for the price. The hotel was close to downtown which was perfect for us. I was happy overall.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bluerhino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2008

After reading the other reviews, I can't believe we stayed at the same place! We stayed at this hotel form the FSU game last weekend. Thankfully it was only for one night, anymore and we would have slept in the car.

This hotel is filthy. You can smell the mildew the minute you walk in to the lobby. The room wasn't any better, the tub was dirty and the toilet barely flushed. The towels were hard and the bed linens were stained. It is in a scary part of town, right beside a bridge and near a train track. There didn't seem to be any type of security other than the occasional police cruiser that drove around. The parking lot was filled with beer bottles and cigarette butts and wasn't swept while we were there. There were drunk partiers banging on the doors until around 2:00 AM.

Needless to say, we slept on our beach towels. It was awful, but we were trapped. They charge a full night plus penalty if you try and leave. The night's cost was doubled because of the football game.

Don't go here, pay the extra $ for the Hyatt!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RottyKingsFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Riverwalk
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#82 of 133 in Jacksonville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.9 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown

Property: Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Address: 2228 Phillips Hwy, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207-3590 (Formerly Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Jacksonville
Super 8 Jacksonville
Jacksonville Super 8
Jacksonville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing