We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price - great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
Ranked #109 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For the price - great value”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Ok. First of all i want to clarify a few things about the negative points people have left on here. Me and my girlfriend are both college students and were looking for somewhere to stay relatively near the beach for as cheap as possible. We paid $35 a night for this hotel, so 3 nights for including tax was $120 between the two of us; great value.
Firstly, i will address some of the things people exaggerated on here. The hotel looks very old, paint faded/peeling on the inside, low ceiling in the bathroom etc. These are bad points if you paid a lot of money for a hotel and want to nitpick, but in reality it changes nothing about staying there.
Secondly, the hotel was VERY clean. No bugs, no stains, and whatever else people had a problem with. My room was perfect, and extremely large too, we were in the king size room and it was one of the biggest hotel rooms i've stayed in.
Thirdly, and this is the one that really surprised me the most was people complaining it was in a bad area???!!! Did you even stay here?? For everyone who hasn't, the hotel is located just off the interstate in a BUSINESS PARK. As in, the only things around it were 3 other hotels, and a few fast food places. And not to mention these places looked nice and clean AND had a big lake with fountains in the front of it, which also was clean. I expected a bad place, but was absolutely flabbergasted when i saw it. There is no housing, or anything to make the place 'bad'. Ridiculous.
The rest of the hotel itself was pleasant, pool was clean and so was the general lobby area and the staff were friendly, and checking in was a breeze. The breakfast wasn't anything to write home about (get there early or you miss out) but again i want to emphasize i paid $35 DOLLARS A NIGHT!. It had bagels, waffles, cereals, yoghurts etc. No cooked food, but you can toast anything you want.
Oh and finally the hotel DOES have free wifi, and free parking.
Never had a problem at all with staying here, and you seriously should ignore the ridiculous reviews people have given on here. Yes the hotel is old, but it is CLEAN. And it is certainly NOT in a bad area.
I would stay here again for the price if i ever go back to Jacksonville

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilmoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    55
    77
    117
See reviews for
120
58
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Stayed for several days - eldercare at Mayo Clinic nearby. NO MAID SERVICE for the first three days. Finally got more soap & towels at the desk. Note - they advertise "wireless internet" - it is only available in the lobby. Breakfast - fair/poor. Room & bathroom - clean.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schrodinger Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

While on a multi-week trip stayed at multiple La Quinta properties in different states. Was feeling comfortable with the chain.......then we checked into this property; although looking a little tired we went with it. Within 10 minutes of being in the room we found cockroaches crawling on the walls. The staff let us out of the stay (I'll be checking my credit card) with some argument because of the "bugs"

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsterMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2008

This hotel is horrible. Even for a one night stay. It started right at the door to my room when my card wouldn't open the door. i had to go back to the front desk had to come and let me in. I asked her what if I needed to go back out for anything. She told me to come back to the desk and they would let me back in. (Are you kidding me?) I get into my room and it was dirty. There was a halfeaten candy bar sitting on top of the T.V., the bathroom had hair and other unidentified gook on the shower tub and floor, and there was a dirty ashtray in my "non-smoking" room! The two prostitutes I saw outside only added to the ambience. Overall, a bad experience. I would rather sleep in my car!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank charliesouthflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We were driving up the East Coast from Miami. We decided to spend the night since it was 8 pm and raining. We've stayed at other La Quinta's and enjoyed our experience so we decided to give it a try. The hotel is nothing impressive. Just a regular two story with outside hallways. The lobby was nice and clean and the staff at the desk was very nice. We got our room on the second floor by the pool. No elevators so you have to lug your luggage up. The room itself was very spacious. We had a table so we could sit and eat dinner before sleeping. The shower area was a little cramped but served its purpose. The mattresses were old and we all tossed about a bit but when you're tired you eventually fall asleep. AC worked fine - kept everyone cool. Breakfast the next morning was Eggo waffles and some cereal -- not really up to the La Quinta standards we're used to -- and the breakfast area was cramped. All in all -- a place to sleep but I wouldn't stay more than a night. If we drive through again, we'll probably look for another hotel.

  • Liked — Close to I-95
  • Disliked — Old hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miami_Mom_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

My daughter had a field trip to St Augustine Friday. Since it is a 3 hour drive we decided to make a weekend out of it. I checked out all the hotels in St Augustine but none had what we wanted (a 1 bedroom suite that allows small dogs) so I found one in Jacksonville. DH dropped me off in St. Augustine and headed to Jacksonville to check in.(checked tripadvisor and it had great reviews) Of course they would not let him check in early so he had to wait and since he had our dog there was not much to do so he sat in the car. DH calls me and tells me that the area looks nice but ppl keep asking him to use his phone or if he wants to buy this or that and he is not sure if we should stay. I told him to do what he feels comfortable with and we stayed. DH picks my DD and I up in St. Augustine and DD is dieing to get to the pool but it starts pouring down rain. (it was so hot all day and not one drop of rain until we want to go swimming:sad2:) We go to the hotel to drop the dog off and then we left to get something to eat while we wait for it to stop raining. We get back parked right in front of our room window so we can watch the car (the car is brand new and DH's baby:rotfl: )and some man comes up to us and asks if we have a wire coat hanger he wants to buy for $20:eek: we tell him no and then he tells the person on the phone that he did not have the extra $4 he needed.....so what was he going to do with the coat hanger??:confused3 Our room was the suite (they only have 2 at this hotel) right above the office. When we get to the room DH's key card does not work so he heads for the office to get a new one. When he goes to the office he said the guy at the front desk kept looking at him funny but we thought oh well lets get ready and go to the pool. So we start getting our suits on and there is a LOUD knock at the door. DH was dressed but DD and I were not so he goes to the door to find 2 cops that grab him and throw him against the wall. (I have no idea what is going on b/c I am in the bedroom getting dressed) They start telling DH that the front desk guy told them we had guns and drugs in the room!!!!:scared1: The cops tell him to let them in the room and DH tells them that we are in there getting dressed they will have to wait. Well they keep banging on the door and at this point I am almost dressed and DD still is not so I go to the door to let DH in to find the cops!! They ask me if everyone is dressed and I tell them no we will be right out. I am like WTF did someone break into the car? (I did not know what they were there for yet) So I get DD dressed we go to the door and the cop yells at us to get by the wall! What for I said....he replyed IN FRONT of my 10y/o we know you have drugs and weapons in that room. I said you are crazy!!!! So they go in the room and flip it upside down find nothing. All they had to say was sorry have a nice stay!!! I have never been treated like that in my life we were guilty until they found nothing and very cocky and rude. We packed up so quick and got the hell out of there! But now my DD does not want anything to do with the police. And my family will NEVER stay in Jacksonville again! Oh when we got back and told everyone what happened we had at least 5 ppl say Jacksonville is so bad it is just full of prostitutes and druggies....that would have been nice to know BEFORE we went!!!!:rolleyes1 Sorry so long!! Oh and with all the drama I forgot to mention the 4 roaches we saw while putting our stuff back in our bags.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Getting accused of drugs and weapons!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShaynaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Check in was great, very friendly, helpful lady. Room was clean, bathroom was spacious and bed was comfortable. Internet access worked great. I asked for Courtyard to avoid the road noise from -95.
I would have been better with the road noise. The courtyard is a tiny strip between two concrete structures parallel to each other. The partiers were up unti 3:30 and every laugh, scream, etc was channelled though the closed door. At 6:30am the kids's soccer team was up practicing loudly in the courtyard while their chaperones nursed hangovers?
If I stayed again I'd try to get a room facing away from 95 and not in the courtyard.

  • Liked — Friendy check in
  • Disliked — Need for soundproofing between structures. Heavy foliage plantings might help
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GatorTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows Near Butler Blvd
0.2 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#82 of 133 in Jacksonville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue East
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#94 of 133 in Jacksonville
73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#65 of 133 in Jacksonville
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows

Property: Days Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
Address: 8255 DIX Ellis Trl, Jacksonville, FL 32256-8292 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn - Baymeadows Hotel Jacksonville
La Quinta Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville La Quinta
La Quinta Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing