We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opportunity lost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Opportunity lost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I don't want to sound harsh, but the hotel had a chance to save this review and whiffed.

Got to my room and started to unpack when I noticed a little critter crawling on the bed sheet. Upon further inspection, it was a bed bug. Called down to the front desk and they said they would move me to another room. I figured since this is a particularly unsettling event, the hotel might go out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and put me in a upgraded room. However, they just moved me down the hall. I guess the change in view was the upgrade!

The room is fairly large, but it looks like it needs a bit of love. The furniture is old, as is the TV (not flat screen). The bathroom was bigger than most, but no mini bar in the room. The bed was comfy and I slept well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    783
    386
    142
    71
See reviews for
397
487
85
1,247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel Jan. 31-Feb. 3, 2011 for a conference. It was nice. A lot of previous reviewers complained, but it was fine with me.
Pros: Friendly staff -- she noted that my room was far from the elevator and asked if I wanted one closer; I did, and she placed me on a higher floor (16 instead of 10) and right by the elevator, which was convenient and not noisy. No bellhops issues like another reviewer had. Fast check in and out. Nice linens, and comfortable bed. Quiet room (16th floor). Free WSJ daily. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but the pastries provided by the hotel during the conference were good, as was the tea. Einstein Bagels on site. Excellent location on river and a block from Jackson Landing (restaurants and shops). Apples and lemonade in the lobby. The best part was the 2.25 mile run (or 3.75, your choice) outlined on the website, that goes across one bridge, back over another, and returns along the river--wow, it was beautiful! Also fantastic view from the gym, which was well-equipped (6 mills, 6 bikes, machines and free wts).
Middle: Rooms were basic and fine. Bathroom on the larger side. A previous reviewer complained about the chairs in the meeting rooms, but I sat in them for 3 days straight, 8 hrs a day, and they were just the same as any other chair. $30 upgrade for riverview, on which I passed since this was just a business trip. The elevators were fine (another reviewer said they were musty) and the towels were bright white, large, and fluffy (another reviewer complained about them).
Cons: No refrigerator in the room; could have obtained one for $25 charge--not worth it, for 3 nights. AND a charge for Internet, which I felt was quite unreasonable, as most hotels have it for free even if they make you stand to check your e-mail.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VyVy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear VyVy60,

We appreciate the wonderful feedback from your most recent stay at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville! We take pride in offering ‘authentic’ hospitality to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future and please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

The Hyatt Riverview is a nice downtown hotel. It is within walking distance to the Jacksonville Landing, for dining and shopping. We got a complimentary upgrade to a riverview room and only paid $60 per night on priceline, extremely satisfied with that. The room was basic but clean and the view was beautiful during the day and night. There was a wet bar type sink in the room which was great for coffee and meant we had 2 sinks to use getting dressed in the mornings. Valet parking was $20.00 per night, which seemed a bit high for the location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake&Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Jake&Maggie,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedules to write a review on Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We were glad you enjoyed the comforts of our hotel, especially the spectacular river view. We take pride in offering ‘authentic’ hospitality to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again and please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Riverfront on a Friday night to see a comedy concert at the nearby Times Union Center. We got a nice government rate, but the bargain stopped cold there. We called ahead to see if any room had a microwave, as we were bringing some finger food for a quiet gathering with our friends before the show. The hotel advised us that they could bring us a refrigerator for $25 a night, and a microwave for $40 a night. We were really tempted to stop and by a $40 microwave on the way in just to make a statement... but I wasn't allowed.

We arrived to find the lobby parking area to be a mess of vehicles. We were prepared for the $20 per day valet charge ($15 self park, but don't be thinking you'll get a luggage cart), and we planned to use bell service as well. So the waiting began. First we were directed to get checked in first (by a bell service rep who demanded to hold our car key), so we went inside and waited for about 15 minutes to check in. After a pleasant and easy check-in, we went back out to claim our bags and get the car taken care of. It took a couple of minutes for a bellman to get to us. He quickly loaded our bags onto a cart. I asked about the car, and the gentleman directed me to the valet window, which was unoccupied. I waited for a minute or two, reclaimed my key from the bellman, and left to go to the room with the bellman. BUT WAIT... he wasn't a bellman at all. He was a doorman. He took me to the bell stand, and handed us off to a different, so he could take us upstairs. Another guy, another tip.
Otherwise? A pleasant stay. The carpet in our hallway (15th floor) was a bit worn. There was a bit of a moldy smell in the hallway. The view was incredible, and well worth the upgrade to the river side. Our friends on the 4th floor had a phone that wouldn't work, and a fan blowing the moldy smell around in the hallway.

Our room was basic, with upscale bedding and furniture. The "balcony" is only a sliding door with a substantial rail to keep you from falling over. Every other room on this floor had about 6 inches of balcony you could negotiate if you were determined.

We used the free shuttle (supposedly good for a 3 mile area). It consists of a cabbie that hangs around to get the trips for tips. He "recommends" $2 per person for the service, which was ok with us.

Check out was even worse. I first went to try to get a cart so we could begin to organize our load of stuff, but no way in he LL will they let you have one of those carts even for a minute. You might beat one of the 12 guys lined up out of their tips. So once we got organized, I called the desk and asked for bell service and to have our valeted car brought around. The bellman was about 5 minutes getting there (fine), and helpful on the way down. Then came the doorman/luggage loader. He parked our bags right in the middle of the way of the main door in and out, and disappeared while we waited for our car. And waited... and waited. 20 mins later I inquired, and the lady in the little both gave me a sharp "NOBODY CALLED ME!". 5 mins later the car arrived. Meanwhile the bell captain had disappeared, and about 8 cars had clogged the way in, including a large SUV blocking the entrance. Those folks had left the car and gone inside (tired of waiting no doubt). So I'm lobbying the bellman to take us out in the street to our car and load us up, but no dice. Another 5 of scrambling around, and a pocket full of tips later (bellman, doorman, valet), we were out of there. See ya.

I've stayed in some fine hotels before, and I am quite used to the bellman being my buddy. Help with the bags, arrange for the car, show me the room, answer my questions, and EXPEDITE my arrival departure. This Hyatt's multi-tipping system slows you down considerably. I frankly assumed it was a union shop, but the bellman said that there were not unionized.

Everyone but the parking lady was nice, while they were shaking my by the ankles, but the shoddy, expensive service was a black mark on an otherwise lovely outing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zjxtinpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear zjxtinpusher,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville. We were sorry to hear that our hotel was not up to your expectations. We strive on providing 'authentic' hospitality and in your case; we were not able to deliver. If you would like to discuss your stay in a more private matter, please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

I've stayed here for 2 nights and things have been okay until I find out that the towels on top of the shelf have not been cleaned. When I pulled out one of them, so much dust came off with it and I had to change my entire clothes and take a shower again. This is NOT acceptable for any hotel, and that's why I am writing a review for future travelers. This was very disappointing, and I would not visit this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdl_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear hdl_jb,

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville. This is not what guests should come to expect while staying with a Hyatt property. If you would like to discuss your stay in a more private matter, please feel free to contact the hotel directly. We would be happy to further look into this. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

I will never stay at a hyatt again. The Maid stole my computer and a book. They have video of maid cleaning my room. She was the only person to enter my room, I guess my computer walked away by itself. Nothing was done by mangement. I was told she was a good maid had been for six years. Well maybe that is why she is stealing because she is still a maid after six years. They had the nerve to offer me a bottle of wine like that would make me feel better!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontstay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
We are sorry that you are unsatisfied with the resolution of your claim. Please feel free to contact the hotel, or your assigned adjuster with our insurer, to address any concerns you may have.

Thank you ~ Hyatt Regency Jacksonville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

I was in Jacksonville for a conference held in this hotel. The hotel itself is very nice and in a very good location (my room was at the 12th floor and it was facing the river, so I had a nice view).
I had little time during lunch breaks, but it was quick to go to the food court located 10 min walking distance from the hotel.
There are a few pubs/clubs nearby the hotel (max 5 min walking distance) and we could enjoy them during the weekend.
A couple of negative notes:
- I called the reception twice to have more info about high speed access but nobody replied
- On the second last day in the morning I left my suit in the room with the proper form filled for having it dry cleaned, but nobody took it. I called the dry cleaning service but nobody replied.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TADT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We were glad you enjoyed the comforts of our hotel, especially the spectacular river view. We were also glad to read that you were able to experience some of Jacksonville's hot spots while in town. The management team at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront would like to apologize for a few of your issues that occurred during your stay, although we are glad it did not ruin your entire experience.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we hope to see you again in the near future, whether for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#11 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville South-St. Johns Town Center Area
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Property: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Address: 225 East Coast Line Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing