We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel on the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel on the River”
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Was in Jacksonville for 4 nights for a conference of 400+ people. The hotel never felt crowded, there was plenty of room to accomodate this large crowd. Had a river view with sliding glass door and with it open could hear the band at the Landing the nights before the big Florida-Georgia game. The bed was very comfortable with enough pillows to satisfy anyone and the bathroom nice and spacious, and all very clean. Ate at the Trellis restaurant for both breakfast and lunch, prices were a bit high but the food was excellent and well worth the price.
I would stay here again if in Jacksonville.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank baloney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    870
    425
    170
    88
See reviews for
458
532
95
1,419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Husband and I were forced to evacuate our home due to TS Fay and wisely chose the Hyatt. I requested and received a riverview room so we could keep an eye on our boat at River City Marina. From checkin to checkout, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and appeared to be newly redecorated. The bathroom was spacious, with double sinks which is always a plus. Due to the storm, the nearby Landing restaurants were closed, so we ate meals in the hotel. The Plaza II Steakhouse was participating in Eat UP Jacksonville, offering a three course meal for $25.00. All meals were tasty, especially enjoying lobster bisque, the filet, and mini eclairs with raspberry sauce. We had planned to check out on Friday, but since Fay was taking her time, the weather was still iffy. The hotel graciously offered us a 3:00 checkout so we had time to make a decision. We decided to stay an extra night with no problems. Overall a great place to stay during a stressful time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trixie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We went for a annual conference and the hotel is a great place for such activities. The atmosphere is a bit '1994' if you get what I mean, with large open areas with fitted carpets.

The rooms were big but be careful and pay a bit extra to get the amazing view over the river or over the marina. We didn't and had a nuclear power plant outside the window....

Location is good, with a great broadwalk outside which leads to the docks with restaurants and small shopping areas. Across the bridge you find more great spots for power walking and places to sit under a palm tree.

We only had breakfast at the hotel which was medium priced but with excellent service and great taste.

The business areas of the hotel is outstanding and can easily accomodate coferences with more than 400 people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Doesn't stand out in the crowd.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dreadlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Nice location, beautiful view (we had 4th floor view of the st. john's river), but we were unable to sleep from itching all night.... awoke to discover beds were infested with bedbugs. Small blood spots on the sheets the following morning from their all night feast (on us).

Nice view, but beware... those things live behind the headboards and under the bedskirt! The headboards here are fastened to the wall making it impossible to erradicate these pests.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bedbugs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank parker313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed one night while in Jax for a concert @ the Florida Theatre. Beautiful, contemporary hotel. Nice spacious lobby. Did not have to wait in line for check in, desk staff very friendly. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Room had view of the river, and there is a sliding door, which was nice. Walked to the Landing for dinner, then walked to the theatre for the concert. Did not eat at hotel restaurants, but the Starbucks coffee at the lobby bar was very good. Concierge desk friendly, knowledgeable and helpful with driving directions to beaches. Decided to head home a day early, and front desk staff kindly waived the cancellation penalty. I will definitely return to the Hyatt whenever I am in Jacksonville. Internet note: there is a 9.95/day charge for internet access (plugged in) in the room. Free wireless in the lobby. I was able to get a wireless signal in the room (6th floor), so it's worth a try.

  • Liked — the bed was soooooo comfy
  • Disliked — valet attendant was snooty
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank threedixiegrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed at the Jacksonville Hyatt for one night for business, and it was just what you'd expect from an older, large Hyatt Regency property. Everything was perfectly adequate, but nothing was stellar. My favorite things about the hotel were the bed, which was quite comfortable, and the staff, who were all extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davidbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

After exhaustive research and "homework" on the web in planning a recent 4-day weekend trip for myself and my fiance to Jacksonville from West Palm Beach (for the Lynyrd Skynyrd/Hank Jr concert), I decided on the Hyatt due to it's location on the same side of the river as the Arena and the Landing (two places we planned on going). The location of the Hyatt was perfect. We did use our car more than planned (for things other than the Landing), but there is so much so close and the water taxi picks up pretty much right outside the hotel, and the Landing is walking distance. We arrived on Friday 6/13 at 12:30 p.m. and stopped in to check if our room was ready early (if not, no big deal, we'd just go find some lunch). To my surprise, the very professional and friendly front desk ladies advised me that our room WAS ready! Great, we unloaded the car (made the mistake of not using a bellhop - who were readily available, that was our fault) and we lugged our bags in from the parking garage. The garage (although $15 per day) was nice to have a secure, guaranteed parking spot always - and the in and out was easy, you just slide your room key 24 hours per day to get in and out. We went to our room (which we had requested a smoking room and they complied). I hadn't sprung for a "river view room", but was pleasantly surprised to have a darn nice view of the river facing the Acosta Bridge. We spent most of our time "pinned" against that window watching the river and people watching below us at the courthouse/parking lot. The room was way bigger than I thought (it was like a "corner" room - which I think is why). I had requested a fridge for the room ahead of time and noticed that one was not in the room. We went by the front desk and they said they were bringing one right now (again, we checked in early). We went out for a while and when we returned, viola - the fridge was there. The ONLY small things that "went wrong" (again, very small things) were the first night our TV remote control died (batteries). The next day they replaced it and it worked fine. We ordered room service on Saturday, and the one thing that my fiance wanted from the room menu, we were told they didn't have it and that we must have an old menu. That was disappointing, but he simply chose something else. We also requested a new menu and it was delivered immediately. The food was very good and the room service service was outstanding. Lovely presentation and professional, friendly staff taking the order and delivering same. On Sunday, it rained so we decided to order room service again for lunch - with our "new" menu. This time, my fiance chose something that was on the "new" menu (that wasn't on the "old" menu) that he wanted. I was told that they didn't have this item!! That was our second disappointment, however, the staff was extremely apologetic and again, he had to quickly decide on something else. So, the room service and the tv remote were our only little bumps - really, nothing that would deter us from staying here again in a heart beat and/or recommending this hotel to anyone. The entire staff, from the front desk, the room service, down to the bellman (who we got smart and used when we checked out -and who arrived immedately after requesting), really could not have been friendlier or more professional!! The hotel itself is very nice and again, the location is fabulous!!

  • Liked — Location and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Paying for parking and the long hallway we had to walk down to our room - LOL Everything was great!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#12 of 133 in Jacksonville
1,956 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Property: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing