We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“After multiple stays, still not disappointed! Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“After multiple stays, still not disappointed! Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I love this hotel. We always stop in Jacksonville on our way to South Florida and try to stay at the Hyatt whenever possible. The river views are stunning, and the hotel windows open so you can have the feel of having a balcony. The A/C does turn off when you open the windows, but if the weather permits, the open air feel is worth it! There are several restaurants nearby at Jacksonville Landing, so you can park your car and walk to dinner or shopping. There is a paved path along the river perfect for a walk or run, and you can traverse the Alsop bridge to get views from the other side of the river. Although we've never been to a Jags game, the stadium is close and you can take the water taxi to get there. The only negative I can think of is that there is no free wifi in the hotel rooms. There is free (slow) wifi in the lobby. The employees are professional and kind. We always have a great experience here.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Amanda F.,

Thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. I am so pleased you enjoy each and every stay! If you ever need anything, while in town, please don’t hesitate and ask. We appreciate your business and look forward to your many more stays with us.

All the Best,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    636
    317
    119
    58
See reviews for
306
381
68
983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel had some wonderful features, including the extremely inviting roof top pool and hot tub, very large conference rooms, conference rooms that are well kept with beautiful chandeliers, plenty of in-house restaurants, and a nice location to the river and the landing.
Overall, the staff was very professional and very friendly. The front staff and concierge need to better understand what transportation is available at the hotel. As I had booked a hotel recommended company to transport me from the airport to the hotel, I spoke with two employees who had never heard of the company I booked with, while trying to arrange a later transport after landing late. I was present for the housekeeping to clean the room on two occasions and I was very impressed on their efficient detail and kindness to ask if I needed anything else. Many staff in the halls asked if I needed assistance on several occasions. Although the front desk staff was very kind and patient, I experienced mistakes on more than one occasion, and had a lot of trouble understanding their explanations due to accent and grammar. I was definitely not happy with their practice of charging my credit card. I have never had a hotel debit my card one time per day for each night. I have had either full amounts at the beginning of my stay or at the end; and typically it has always been at the end of the stay. While this is fine for non-business, this becomes quite the pain, when I have to budget food expenses, hotel stay, travel etc. I am waiting for the authorizations to post, as they accidentally over-charged me. I called the hotel, and they assured me it would be fixed. If not I'll have to go through the fun of calling my bank.
I used the gym during my stay, and while the view was amazing, I would have traded it in a heart beat for equipment that would allow me to do more than one exercise per body part. Additionally, there was enough room for no more than one person to lift free weights at a time.
The landing is very close and has a few okay restaurants. If you are looking for fine dining you will have to get a cab, or travel across the river. The landing and walk-way is very beautiful. The landing mainly features restaurant/bars geared toward traveling business men.
Finally, I understand that this is a Hyatt so prices are going to be more than many other hotels. However, I live in Chicago and do not expect Chicago hotel prices when I am in Jacksonville, FL. Especially when the aesthetic quality of the hotel room, restaurants, and lobby, make my heart sad as I beg for the typical décor I get in Chicago.
I was impressed by the majority of the restaurant and catering staff, as they were very fast about clearing plates, taking orders, and providing attention to my needs.
While I feel that the hotel was a great choice for our conference due to the conference rooms and functionality of the set-up, I feel that the hotel was way over priced, and has a lot of work to do with general operations and quality. I would never personally chose this hotel after this experience. I think if it had an update in quality, décor, a huge price drop, or amenities I might consider a stay. Until then, I would find a different hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinsman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Zinsman33,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We value your opinions and will review in detail. We hope you will give our hotel another try.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while at a work convention.

Big hotel. Nice meeting rooms.

Great location if you like to walk or run while you're traveling. Plenty of good restaurants nearby to walk to.

Service was good. Very friendly staff.

Didn't give it a top rating because the rooms felt dated. Not bad. Just not fresh.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blueteej1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Blueteej1997,

Thank you for your positive review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Here for a work conference so didn't get a choice of hotel. Great views and clean rooms. Bathrooms could use some updating and our faucet leaked Not much to do downtown however so taking a cab was pricey to see things. I did use the trolley at the Jacksonville Landing (which was disappointing) to Five points but it only runs 10:30-2:30. Staff was very nice and helpful but if we were to return for fun we choose something closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Choose water view room. Worth the extra $30.
See more room tips
Green Features: Did nt see any recycling and there was no way to tell housekeeping you didn't need them. We can reuse towels more than once.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaMike87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear TaMike87,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront during your conference. We appreciate your feedback. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked one night about one month in advance. Within a week of my arrival I received an email inviting me to check in online. I thought wow, just like the airlines. I assumed it would get me in an express situation where I walk in and get my room key. So I did it indicating (because they asked) that I'd be there about 5pm.

I arrived at 7pm (tired after a 4 hour drive) and the front desk clerk (who was very nice) said she had to call housekeeping to see if my room was ready. No answer. She called within a few minutes and someone told her they'd go check to see if my room was ready. I was somewhat surprised and thought that was unusual. About 10 minutes later she apologized and said she'd call again and apparently was told they hadn't checked yet or basically, that the room wasn't ready. Meanwhile, another guy walks in after me and they check him in and give him his room key and he goes up.
I asked for a supervisor and she came but explained that because my conference was a special block of rooms they had to be sure it was ready. That made no sense to me. Everyone there (who was checking in) was attending a conference. Finally about 20 minutes after I arrived, the supervisor said "we'll just find you another room with a single king bed; it was because you requested a king bed."

I was happy she found another room, but what was the point of my online check in? I was incredulous. I asked for late check out which they gladly affirmed. But then my door was knocked on at 8:35 a.m. by housekeeping. I didn't answer the door. They came back at about 10:15 and I yelled to them that I had late checkout. They said "oh, ok."

I stay overnight about 50 days per year so I'm not a heavy weight biz traveler, but I've never run across this. Hey, they did give me a coupon for complimentary wifi. I don't need to stay here again. I'm rating them Average, but that's bad for what this calibre of hotel should be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CrosaRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear CrosaRoadWarrior,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you received at check-in and checkout. We appreciate your comments. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

In terms of value, I can not comment, but I can write about the service, quality and cleanliness of the hotel. I am not sure of other 'similar-price' offerings in the area to compare 'value'.

The hotel has wonderful location, walking distance from many 'main' attractions in Jacksonville. Most of the rooms face the river, some the city of course. Front desk agent Amanda, was wonderful and made our stay. We had requested some rooms, and she let us know they were unfortunately occupied.. but our Platinum status was able to provide an upgrade to ocean view room. Rooms ending in even #'s are riverfront.

There is a nice rooftop pool and good size fitness center. Everything as expected, nice place, great location, awesome service. The price of water bottles ($4) was very high, as well as the breakfast is not included; regardless of any IHG status. Downstairs, drinks at the bar are generally $5.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in even #'s are riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cagalindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Cagalindo,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. I am pleased our hotel exceeded your expectations, especially with our amazing views and associates. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Got in really late the night before it started. I got to my floor and it smelled faintly of smoke. My room didn't smell so bad but the bed sheets had an odor to them. The room was not dirty but there was just a lingering smell to everything. If it wasn't so late and I wasn't so exhausted, I would have tried to get my room switched but don't feel like they should be mingling the smoking/non-smoking rooms anyway. The area surrounding the hotel doesn't seem very good. I would not feel comfortable walking around at night on my own. I was not in my room from 8am until 4pm and housekeeping hadn't come by. Overall, pretty disappointed. I expected more from a Hyatt.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, also request to be on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jessica P,

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your stay. We take great pride in providing authentic hospitality and it sounds like we did not succeed. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#8 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville South-St. Johns Town Center Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Property: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing