We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hyatt Platinum members are offered the 19th floor, sadly the pool is on that level and many children run and scream in the halls, so not a perk at all. Had the DND sign on door but housekeeping called in the middle of our nap to ask if we wanted service...not good. People slamming doors, which are very heavy and very LOUD. We would pick another hotel.

Room Tip: avoid a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Overdoityks,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you received and hope you will reconsider and give us another try. We appreciate your business.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    804
    392
    146
    74
See reviews for
406
492
86
1,286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Am in town attending a conference - so far the hotel is so-so. Seems nice from the outside, I pulled up in my rental car and was greeted by a very disorganized valet service. Pay extra for this service, and they all seem to be expecting a tip on top of that. Seems to be overstaffed - one guy took my bags to the elevator, another brought them to my room, both waited with hands out for tips. Front desk staff were nice. The room itself is a little run down - office chair in particular is ....stained..... View is pretty depressing. I can see the river one way and a bunch of run down buildings the other. I ordered room service, which has a built in gratuity, and again, the guy who brought it up waited with hand out for a tip. I don't have a problem with tipping, but I won't tip on top of a built in gratuity....All is all - so-so.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-front room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seem to be trying very hard to be sustainable - but couldn't say they stand out from any other hotel in this regard.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Regina T,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you received during your stay and hope you will give us another try. We appreciate your business.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachicola, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was a little hesitant to stay here given the reviews that stated that the place was run down and dirty. This could not be further from the truth! The place is nicely appointed, all areas I visited were clean, and the staff just couldn't do enough to make sure that I was enjoying my stay! Having stayed at the Ritz and other five star hotels I was blown away by the level of service I received from every member of the hotel staff. I got the bed and breakfast package and for the price of 137/night we had a room with a view of the river, free parking, and an excellent breakfast buffett! I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFootlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PFootlocke,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel; especially our amazing staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a room on the fifteenth floor facing the river and the view was magnificent. To acquire this, I had to pay for an upgrade. I booked by Internet--surcharge; I paid Occupancy Sales Tax, Occupancy City Tax, and City Surcharge on both the Package Rate and the Upgrade. Total $51.21 on top of the room rate of $160.10.
The hotel itself is old-fashioned, by hotel standards, but, then, so is the checking-in process and the staff. Nothing wrong with that!
There were other options I did not want to pay for and so declined.
On the whole, I had a distinct impression of being "nickel-and-dimed."

Room Tip: A room facing the river is a must and the higher the better
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing to say except that I did notice they followed the keep towels on the towel rack unless you want to discard them rule.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Pmotton,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. I am pleased you enjoyed our magnificent view. It is definitely the best few in downtown Jacksonville. I am however sorry you felt nickel-and-dimed. It definitely was not our goal. Our goal is to provide our customers with exceptional service. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The lobby was impressive, and riverfront view from room was nice (if you get one, the hotel is huge and tons of rooms have no view) but that was about it. It was pricey for a city like Jacksonville and you didn't really get anything for the money. The room reminded me of an older run down vegas hotel (dirty carpet floors, kinda smelled), the room has no fridge, and no thermostat. The AC was set to ice cold, and was always on so the room was loud. Shower didn't heat up one of the nights (youd think a cold shower on a summer evening would be nice but not when the room is ice cold). Parking is $15-20 a day, internet is $20 a day. Not a horrible hotel but you feel like you are getting ripped off, nothing in return for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear 12david,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear our hotel was not up to your standards. We appreciate your business and hope you will give Hyatt a second try.

Best Regards,

Kristine H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were staying at the Hyatt Riverfront-Jacksonville for a wedding. Self-
parking in garage (separate ownershp) was convenient but pricey if you don't negotiate discount for your event. JazzFest was in progress and we could walk to events. Business Plan has buy 1 breakfast buffet/get one free + other amenities. The hotel is beautiful, has very decent gift shop, wonderful beds...overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MaryGene,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront over Jazz Festival weekend. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our business plan offer. It is a great perk for those wanting breakfast and internet. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again next year over Jazz, if not sooner.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but I had some issues with it: the valet took a while to take my car, the bathroom was a little unkept, the water is unusually soft (maybe its a Jax thing?), I had issues with the water temperature on the sink. Other than that the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachyKeen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PeachyKeen26,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry for any inconveniences you received and I hope we were able to rectify the issues while you were still here. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#12 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville South/I-95 at JTB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Property: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing