We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Lots of Add-Ons!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockville Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location but Lots of Add-Ons!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a room on the fifteenth floor facing the river and the view was magnificent. To acquire this, I had to pay for an upgrade. I booked by Internet--surcharge; I paid Occupancy Sales Tax, Occupancy City Tax, and City Surcharge on both the Package Rate and the Upgrade. Total $51.21 on top of the room rate of $160.10.
The hotel itself is old-fashioned, by hotel standards, but, then, so is the checking-in process and the staff. Nothing wrong with that!
There were other options I did not want to pay for and so declined.
On the whole, I had a distinct impression of being "nickel-and-dimed."

Room Tip: A room facing the river is a must and the higher the better
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing to say except that I did notice they followed the keep towels on the towel rack unless you want to discard them rule.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Pmotton,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. I am pleased you enjoyed our magnificent view. It is definitely the best few in downtown Jacksonville. I am however sorry you felt nickel-and-dimed. It definitely was not our goal. Our goal is to provide our customers with exceptional service. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    854
    420
    167
    86
See reviews for
445
524
93
1,392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The lobby was impressive, and riverfront view from room was nice (if you get one, the hotel is huge and tons of rooms have no view) but that was about it. It was pricey for a city like Jacksonville and you didn't really get anything for the money. The room reminded me of an older run down vegas hotel (dirty carpet floors, kinda smelled), the room has no fridge, and no thermostat. The AC was set to ice cold, and was always on so the room was loud. Shower didn't heat up one of the nights (youd think a cold shower on a summer evening would be nice but not when the room is ice cold). Parking is $15-20 a day, internet is $20 a day. Not a horrible hotel but you feel like you are getting ripped off, nothing in return for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear 12david,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear our hotel was not up to your standards. We appreciate your business and hope you will give Hyatt a second try.

Best Regards,

Kristine H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were staying at the Hyatt Riverfront-Jacksonville for a wedding. Self-
parking in garage (separate ownershp) was convenient but pricey if you don't negotiate discount for your event. JazzFest was in progress and we could walk to events. Business Plan has buy 1 breakfast buffet/get one free + other amenities. The hotel is beautiful, has very decent gift shop, wonderful beds...overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MaryGene,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront over Jazz Festival weekend. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our business plan offer. It is a great perk for those wanting breakfast and internet. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again next year over Jazz, if not sooner.

Kind Regards,

Kristine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but I had some issues with it: the valet took a while to take my car, the bathroom was a little unkept, the water is unusually soft (maybe its a Jax thing?), I had issues with the water temperature on the sink. Other than that the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachyKeen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PeachyKeen26,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry for any inconveniences you received and I hope we were able to rectify the issues while you were still here. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to J'ville for the jazz festival and stayed at Hyatt Regency for one night. We checked in online, received an email by 11 am that the room was ready, including the room number, and then bypassed the check in line by using the kiosk in the lobby to receive our keys - fabulous system!! Our king room was lovely, a/c was on and the room was cool when we arrived. Overall, we were extremely pleased with our accommodations and the riverfront location is stunning indeed. We sat in the bar with friends twice during our stay and service was quite nice, friendly and efficient. A terrific property that I recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Youngetal,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel; starting with the ease of checking in, all the way to our amazing view and location. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again next year over Jazz Festival, if not sooner.

Best Regards,

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I brought my family to a conference and we had a great time. The setting is right on the river with a boardwalk to restaurants and shops right next door. Great views. Very nice. I would stay there again, but don't wander too far from the river. The neighborhood changes. It is fun to hike over the bridge and there are many restaurants right on the water.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear hbrish,

Thank you for the perfect 5! We are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel; especially our amazing location. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 7days in Jacjksonville, Florida where we stayed at the Hyatt Regency. It was wonderful. We were fortunate to be in the Presidential Suite. All hotel workers were pleasant and attentive. The rooms were clean and quite spacious. I was underwhelmed with the Gift Shop. That, however, is very minor. The restaurants were good and it was nice to be so close to The Landing. It was in a good spot for nice walks. I felt very comfortable there.

Green Features: They did not suggest a way to use towels and linens more than once to be environmentally friendly. They were changed on a daily basis.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Cecilia056,

The staff at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay! We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#12 of 133 in Jacksonville
1,930 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Property: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing