We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Stayed here twice within a week, one night each time. The second visit was definitely better than the first, primarily because I arrived in daylight instead of pitch dark. This gave me time to play with the lights and finish figuring out their unusual system. Overall, the hotel has a lot going for it, however, I ended up feeling like I was in a very congenial third world hotel aspiring to greatness.

It seemed that "luck of the draw" dictates a room's condition. For both stays, I had a single room with one queen bed (with just enough space around it to get in and out), a microwave and a refrigerator.

If lucky, everything works and the room is a very decent value for the dollar. If not so lucky, you end up like I did: first visit, I had stained (but clean) sheets, serious trouble with the lights and a decent continental breakfast. Second visit: I had a nice view of the pond/fountain; better luck with the lights (although still problematic), a terrible shower (just a dribble that did not change in spite of efforts to adjust it), and excellent shuttle service from/to the airport. Happily, although I left too early for breakfast, there was coffee ready at 5:30 a.m., so I had a cup while waiting for the shuttle. Great!

As noted by several other reviews, the room was clean and decent and a good deal for the money (including the extra $2.50 "fee"). The staff was responsive to questions and concerns, willing to "fix" whatever you bought to their attention, and just plain nice. If you only stay one night, and don't have the chance or time to get things "fixed" ... you may well have a less than satisfactory experience. But, overall, I would recommend this as a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here on a trip to Sanibel Island. Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerbalser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

I stayed at this location for one night. It was very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. The guest next door had kids that were noisy, but that's how kids are, and I am not at home. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would do it again.


Petrojam100
New York City

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrojam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Located in the north end of J'ville, just south of the airport and just off a main road! QUITE!! Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and neat but small which accounts for the reasonable cost $50US. Had a queen, frig and microwave. Great for sleeping not no partying!! Wifi was good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Home24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I got this hotel from hotwire.com with a very good deal ($40/night).
The hotel was bigger than I thought and the room was really clean.
Really worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zee_hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I got this room through Hotwire for just over $50 which included all taxes and fees. Actually, I think you can do just as well through the hotel's website. Anyway, a free shuttle to the airport is provided which was my main reason for selecting this hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean and the hotel staff was very accommodating. It's also within walking distance to area restaurants, other hotels, and convenience stores although a short part of the walk is not on sidewalks. The only drawback was my wife not having very hot water for her shower. When I showered later, however, there was plenty of hot water so I'm assuming her experience was one of those momentary ones. I'd certainly stay here again based on this one stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

This hotel is located close to the JAX airport and offers seven nights of free parking with one night paid stay there. It was perfect for us as we had an early flight out of Jacksonville. The room was very small--included a bed and nothing else. Even the TV was mounted from the ceiling to save space. A standing armoire was the room's closet space. Free breakfast was included, and the hotel calls a free shuttle whenever you need transport to or from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jacksonville Airport
16.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
16.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#68 of 133 in Jacksonville
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Southpoint
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jacksonville Airport
Days Inn Jacksonville Airport
#54 of 133 in Jacksonville
517 reviews
16.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#48 of 133 in Jacksonville
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 14585 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville
#45 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel And Suites
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing