We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will never stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #53 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will never stay there again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

I chose this hotel because I needed to catch an early morning flight and because of the good rate of their park and fly package (free parking for 7 days). It is rather at the lower end, but I was surprised to find a refrigerator in the room. The bathtub did not drain, but this was only a minor problem. I got a shock in the morning when I noticed blood stains on the sheets, and then the tiny bed bugs crawling all over the pillows and sheets. Must have crushed one of those bloodsucking bugs. Took a long shower and got the hell out of there.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank trajectory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpleah, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
We have yet to find any record of a complaint about insect activity in our hotel. We have made several attempts to contact the reviewer to no avail. It doesn’t seem possible that a guest wouldn’t have so much as mentioned such an issue to one of our staff members. The reviewer posted a review on this website under the pretense of helping out other travelers. If they are unwilling to let the property better understand and investigate the situation in hope of a resolution that would save another traveler grief; the post was made in vain. (See the letter as sent to the submitter below.)

To: trajectory
Sent on Apr 9, 2008

To whom it may concern:

We noticed a review that was posted on Tripadvisor concerning your stay with us. Since we have no record of any complaints in regard to the concerns you raised in your review, we appreciate your answering a few questions. What was the name the room was registered in, and which room number was it? We have a monthly pest control inspection and they have yet to find anything such as you described. If in fact such a problem exists it would save other guests from the same issue if we knew where to locate the problem. The cleanliness and comfort of our guests is our number 1 priority. Anything that would jeopardize guest satisfaction is a very serious matter, and all attempts will be made to remedy any possible pest situation.

Jacksonville Hotel Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    194
    122
    44
    28
See reviews for
150
202
84
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

I would not want to stay here for any extended period of time but for one night, it was perfect. I had a six AM flight out of JAX and this hotel was close to the airport, clean, safe. The room was small, but all I was doing was sleeping. Nice range of channels on the TV, nice strong shower. Free shuttle to the airport, give the front desk at least 20 minutes before you want shuttle to arrive. My only complaint: they have complimentary breakfast starting at 6, coffee, juice, muffins, the regular. Well, I had to be in the lobby at 4am and I couldn't even get a cup of coffee! They hadn't turned the machines on yet. I would have been willing to PAY for a cup of coffee at that point, how hard could it be for them to keep a pot brewing? I was one of six or so people in the lobby that morning, I'm sure I wasn't the only one wishing there was coffee.

  • Liked — free airport shuttle
  • Disliked — wish I could have bought coffee at four AM
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TinaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast
Level Contributor
322 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

Well worth the low price - the room was stuffy because of a faulty a/c, but we were given a choice of other rooms as soon as we brought it to their attention. The new room was clean, fresh and comfortable. The continental breakfast was more then enough with bake goods, cereal, yogurt, juice, milk and fresh fruit. Their is new construction going on in the back, but this was the weekend with no work. Nearby is a huge mall of many stand alone big box and other retailers as well as a movie complex and some popular restaurants. The airportis only 5 minutes up the road. There is a $2.50 a day ammenities fee added tot he bill.

  • Liked — Clean and affordable; great cont breakfast
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

Jacksonville Plaza has to be the best deal in Florida. We stayed there twice-- once flying into JAX and then a week later before we flew out. The second time we found a $39.99 coupon for the motel in one of the many coupon books you can pick up in Florida! This included a clean room with queen-size bed, use of their computer in the lobby, good breakfast (apples, yogurt, oatmeal, English muffins, etc., items you don't find at other cheapo motels), and free transport to and from the airport.

The room they gave us at first was quite small. I asked if they had a slightly larger one that would accomodate a massage table, and they gladly found me a larger room.

They charge a small $2 "amenity fee" and charge for local calls, but who's complaining. We dealt with 4 desk clerks and all were friendly and helpful to us and other guests. I asked one fo them where the nearest drug store was to buy some cough drops. She said there wasn't a drug store between the motel and the airport, but she'd be happy to give me some of hers!!

  • Liked — Value and friendliness. 100% smoke-free.
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

What a great place,,, staff is awesome especially Amanda

rooms are large and spacious

beds are so comfortable

continetinal breakfast,, yet is is a small area

have shutte service to and from the airport and aso to and from the Cruise ships

internet service

prices are reasonable

i would stay again

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank carolw6855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

We booked the hotel for one night since we had an early flight. I had read the reviews here and expected nice acommodations. We were assigned a VERY small room on the first floor...a room that smelled like cat urine and felt unclean and yucky. The mint green sheets did not contribute to a clean look and feel, and I refused to even touch the comforter.

As soon as we entered the room, we returned to the front desk to check out. The attendant on duty did ask if we wanted to try another room, but we were so turned off by the first one that we simply wanted to leave. We were refunded the money, for which we are very grateful, and left.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mygsds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpleah, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2008
We are sorry this reviewer did not give us a proper chance to meet their lodging expectations. The guest was checked into a Queen sized room as requested in the reservation. If the room had been reserved for two queen beds it would have been a larger room. Furthermore being dirty and feeling dirty are clearly two different things. Either there was dirt present or there wasn't. The color of the sheets does not dictate whether or not they were clean. Green is the most predominant color in living nature and is not synonymous with filth. The comforter that the reviewer wouldn't touch is less than a year old and in excellent condition. The hotel does not allow pets which makes it difficult to smell like urine of any sort. Describing something as "smelled like" is very subjective and is at best a vague description that wouldn't have more that one person in agreement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

Stayed here for the 2nd time in Dec 07, since I was needing to catch an early flight out of Jacksonville. One nights stay gives you 7 days free parking, that is a great deal. Room was clean, staff at desk was helpful, bed was comfortable and the motel was quiet. I have had 2 very good visits to this motel and will come back when neccessary.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank garedsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jacksonville Airport
16.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
16.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#55 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#67 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
16.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#39 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 14585 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville
#45 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing