We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High French Cuisine at its best; especially for Jax”
Review of Restaurant Orsay

Restaurant Orsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Orsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Edgewood or Dancy
Transit: Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“High French Cuisine at its best; especially for Jax”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is one of favorite dining experiences in the Duval County area for sure. The menu is varied, innovative and expansive; yet, not overwhelming either. The "three liver pate" appetizer was magnificently balanced with full yet delicate nuanced flavors that paired well with a Burgundy wine. Our party had mussels, steak frites and I thoroughly loved a pastry pot pie of lobster; this was no ordinary pot pie; it was magnificent-a true work of culinary art indeed.
Service was attentive; yet, not fawning nor obsequious.
I believe this is high value fairly priced experience totally!
The noise level was a tiny bit of a factor; yet, not a turn off. We actually love to dine outside there when we are able (too cold last night).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    136
    45
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, good food & atmosphere”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've eaten here at least 4 times over the past 3 years. Had dinner there with wife for her birthday. They were full so sat us in the bar area, which was busy and loud. However, food was good. Had brunch there again last month. Service was wonderful. Food was too salty (on 3 dishes out of 4). The other times, service were also good. Food is 4/5 for a French restaurant of this caliber. Bottom line: would come again for good wine & cheese, but not expecting fantastic French cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ngofilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Jacksonville”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Started with a liver pate' that melted in our mouths. Then on to Brussel sprouts with bacon and a steak to die for. Couldn't have been better. Service was exquisite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced and overhyped”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We thought there was nothing exceptional about our experience. The food was good but not great, same for the service. My steak was warm and slightly obercooked We've had better meals at much less expensive places. Perhaps we caught them on a bad night, but since this restaurant is out if the way for us, we probably won't be back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaigoss69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants in Jacksonville”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Orsays is first class all the way. Excellent French inspired cuisine done at a reasonable price. The mussels & frites are always spot on. Also make sure to enjoy the daily ice cream choices for dessert.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 296brandonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Orsay also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing