We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Orsay

Restaurant Orsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Orsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,947 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Edgewood or Dancy
Transit: Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were visiting Jacksonville, FL to attend the Gator Bowl. For our first evening's dining we chose Restaurant Orsay. The food, ambiance, and service was wonderful. My husband started with the Roasted Oysters which was similar to Oysters Rockafeller. My daughter chose the Onion Soup which was covered with a wonderful melted Gruyere. I ordered the Orsay Salad with the Dijon Champagne Vinagrette. These were all delicious. For the main course our orders included the Risotto, Filet Mignion, Duck Breast and Pork Chop. Each of us thought our choice was devine, but the Pork Chop was voted the best of the best. I believe this was the best Pork Chop I have ever eaten. For a wonderful evening of dining, Restaurant Orsay is a can't miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    111
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Jacksonville hidden secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Traveling down to palm beach and made a stop for the night. Luckymfor us we found orsay about 5 miles off 295 and 10 junction. Great meal and service to match. I had the grand pâté and my wife had the roasted calamari. Both were excellent. Main course was a red snapper and a pork chop you cut with a fork. If you in the area and looking for a fine dinner , Orsay is for you.. You can't miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MARK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville,fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After consulting TripAdvisor for an anniversary dinner, we decided on Orsay. I was a little concerned driving up (and trying to find parking), but the minute I walked in I knew we had found the right spot. By the time we were leaving, we were already trying to find an occasion to come back! Our server Danielle greeted us warmly, she was knowledgable about the menu and specials but never pushy. For the quality level and extravagance of the food, we expected to be fussed over by a team of snooty waiters with crumb combs. I loved the laid back but efficient attitude of the wait staff. And the food was delicious! For apps, we had escargot and mussels. Entrees were boullabaisse (sp?) and filet with the soup du jour potato leek with lobster and the truffled mac&cheese. Everything was excellent! The only tiny complaint was the filet wasn't as silky as my husband wanted, but we've found that to be the case with all grassfed beef. (Happy cows=grainy steaks) Next time he'll get the lamb, oh well. If you have a birthday, anniversary or any special event coming up, plan on going to Orsay!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went to Orsay for the first time while visiting Jacksonville, Fl. I was so surprised, and impressed by this place. The food, the ambiance, the music, the waiter, the martini's were amazing. My husband and I decided to visit this place after determining we were not going to wait another hour to go to Ruth's Chris and boy are we happy we did so. For starters, I had a jumbo shrimp cocktail and hubby had a happy hour portion of bouillabaisse. Hubby was more than pleased with his dish and I ordered seconds. I know your thinking its just shrimp cocktail but no. Something about the freshness of the shrimp and the fresh grated horseradish was irresistible. On to the main course, we both had the filet mignon. I have had filets many ways at many restaurants, but this definitely hits the top of the list. It was cooked perfectly and the taste combination was so fitting. The drinks. Hubby didn't drink but I had the French martini. I had this all weekend in other places but Orsay made it perfect. They should rename it the perfect French martini. I was going to go for desert but I behaved. It was so tempting. This restaurant is the only reason I will revisit Jacksonville. Oh last but not least the waiter I believe his name was D'jean, (hope I got it right) I'll describe him. Young black dark skinned male approximately 23 years old. Anyway made the experience that much more fantastic, recommendations, product knowledge pleasant, upbeat, awesome. In fact, the best waiter I have had in Jacksonville period. Thanks Orsay for the great time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, cozy, intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ambiance itself made the night wonderful. We wet here for an anniversary dinner. We all ordered something different. As an appetizer we had escargot (a first for all of us), it was surprisingly good; I however thought the mushrooms they are cooked with tasted even better. We also tasted the special soup they had (I think it was carrot and ginger or something). It tasted like masala, that is definitely a good thing. The pan seared fish with roasted cauliflower puree and creamed corn was awesome!!! My husband had the berkshire pork chop, our friends had the mapleleaf farm duck breast and braised hanger steak. All of the above mentioned were divine. My hubby said that was one of the best porkchops he'd ever had. The food is definitely worth the price. It took our food a while to come out and our server took a while to bring the check but when he did finally come he brought us some shots (something jealousy) on the house. We wil definitely be going back.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philllygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Orsay also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Restaurant Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing