We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Good Food”
Review of Chowder Ted's

Chowder Ted's
Ranked #64 of 2,001 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Good Food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Chowder, is a seafood with a tomato base and a slight kick at the end. Fried oysters and shrimp were lightly breaded and cook to order. We had an oyster poor boy and fried shrimp with onion rings. I would order all again but, next time will get something else because everything coming from the kitchen look good. If you like a small place with home cooked food then stop by you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    40
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“don't blink or you could miss it!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

we've only had Chowder to go... excellent!! and I don't have to cook that night.. I hear the beer is COLD & amy does a great job..hope to try other seafood dishes in the near future...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogey718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great food! Local favorite!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the cozy atmosphere--nothing fancy but the food was amazing! Worth the drive, worth having to pay cash!
We had the smoked fish dip--homemade and the fish is smoked in-house, so not your everyday dip. Chunky and good! Also had the Cajun shrimp and ordered a second round it was so good. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.
Look past the exterior because the food is amazing. Waitress was attentive and accommodating.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Try the eponymous chowder at "Chowder Ted's" restaurant!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

OK, this is a fish camp in the very fringe of Jacksonville nicely hidden by a low bridge on a single lane highway heading south from Amelia Island; so, when you realize you going to miss it, be careful not to get "rear ended". This warning notwithstanding, this is the real deal. My wife and I love these kinds of fish camp restaurants for a variety of reasons including authentic native cuisine. This namesake Minorcan style chowder has some unique ingredients making it genuinely a real treat. The "half pot" was almost a full meal; cannot imaging a full pot especially because the other options beg to come to your palate and plate! My wife had blackened Mahi (which she graciously shared---fabulous) and I had very good coconut shrimp. We asked for their house Cajun dressing which really topped off everything including the french fries. We live about 50 miles away; but, this is a place we will bring visitors for sure!
BTW, cash only--no credit cards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't let looks fool you!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

From the outside you wouldn't expect much, eat the food and you never want to eat anywhere else! The Ultimate Mahi sand which is the best I have ever had. The fried shrimp is amazing, and the quality do the beer selection is better than any taproom. GO HERE, EAT HERE, BE HAPPY!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwboyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Ted's also viewed

 

Been to Chowder Ted's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing