We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T GO”

German Schnitzel Haus
Ranked #340 of 1,995 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DON'T GO”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Worst experience at a restaurant EVER!! I'd give it zero stars if I could. The food was delicious...up to the point when we found a ROACH cooked into our pizza. When we brought it to the attention of our waitress, a "manager" came out and said he'd comped the pizza, but still wanted us to pay for the rest of our meal (which we most certainly didn't finish). When we offered to simply pay for what we ate, the "manager" said that he couldn't comp the platter (which we didn't eat) because it was $18 and they had to make SOME money. After that, we refused to pay for anything and he argued with us for 10 minutes (and I'm not exaggerating that amount of time) that we had to still had to pay for the platter (and as anyone that has been in the customer service industry would know...you don't EVER argue with the customer). Even after asking when the owner would be in (to which we got "he travels to D.C. so he's never in") and saying that this would be posted on Yelp (his response, "well if thats what kind of people you are"), we left horribly disappointed and pissed. DO NOT GO HERE!!!! Horrible customer service...and worse, ROACHES...imagine what goes on that we don't happen to see!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumblebeebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    20
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Very Sad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were so excited to find a German Restaurant in Jacksonville after living in Huntsville Alabama
and loving the German food at Schnitzel Ranch. Sad to say but the hot German potato salad we asked for was boiled potato with a salad dressing over it. Staff could not speak German.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was so excited that my husband found a German Restaurant in town to take me to for my birthday. Sadly we were both very disappointed, the German food ordered didn't taste like Akerman food at all. Beside that the first three things we ordered they were out of, the German sausage platter was advertised as 4 different sausages. There were four sausage but only 2 kinds, the taste was good according to my husband but not as advertised. We concluded our visit with the dessert we chose to celebrate was also sold out. We won't drive an hour to go to this restaurant again:-(

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just visited yesterday evening with my husband. I am originally from Poland, and this is the only place in Jax where I can find a little bit of my own cuisine. To enjoy schnizel, you need to like German food, the same goes for potato pancakes, spatzle, rouladen, goulash...If you are from Europe, you will find this place more than adequate and to your liking. Beats going to an American chain restaurant any day! Desserts: apple strudel and chocolate cake- home made and both delicious! Again, have heard complaints from American people about this place, came to check it out for this very reason. If you are from Europe and used to thin pork, brat kartofeln, and spatzle, you will love this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kloos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“The wait staff was the best thing they have going!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We would rate this restaurant as a "once in a lifetime visit"!

The salad was very good. The rest of our meal was quite bad.
The chicken was way over cooked, tough. They gave my husband a plate full of muschroom gravy with maybe 2 oz of cooked to death chicken pieces. The pork was way too tough, cooked to death. The sides had no taste, just generic. Very disappointing. I've been to a number of German restaurants throughout the years and this place was the worst ever.
The only good thing is that the waitresses were very sweet and personable and it was clean.
Sorry, but we cannot recommend this eatery to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Schnitzel Haus also viewed

 

Been to German Schnitzel Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing