We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but be ready for trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a decent motel, but there are 2 things to be aware of:

1. It is hard to find in the dark, as it is not actually on Commonwealth, but rather an alley access behind the Comfort Suites. Look for that instead

2. It is close to the train tracks, so beware that you may need some white noise to cancel that out

Room Tip: Probably try to get one on the east side, as the west side is closest to train tracks
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and pointing out our location which is offset from Commonwealth. We also try to mention to many of the guests that we are located behind the Wendy's Restaurant. I am glad you were able to find us!! Thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager
Country Inns & Suites - Jacksonville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 294 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was a last minute reservation - just a few days before check in. We got a suite with separate bedroom (w/ two queen beds). Check-in & check-out was quick and worry-free and staff was very friendly.

Room & Rate was comparable - We had two teenage boys who slept in the room and my husband & I took an air mattress and slept on the hide-a-bed in the sofa. (Those are NEVER comfortable; so we planned ahead). I wouldn't try to use this room for more than 4 or 5 people - it's larger than a regular room, but the "living room" area is small. BUT there are t.v.'s in both rooms & high speed internet. We used Wi-Fi instead of the hook-up for the internet. It was a little slow, but we were pleased that it even worked.

The complimentary breakfast was "doable". They served waffles, eggs, potatoes (they called it a "casserole" but it was just red potatoes with seasoning), sausage, oatmeal, fruit, bagels/muffins, etc.

There aren't many restaurants around - but you are within a few minutes of driving to Orange Park or other areas of Jacksonville, and there are several there.

We would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSaylors2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

TheSaylors2004,

Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our staff and overall facility. I will be sure to share this with staff members!

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager
Country Inns & Suites - Jacksonville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have visited dozens of country inns and some are unfortunately worse than others. We were in Rm 204 and had several carpet stains, the office chair seat was cracked and unable to adjust. I like curried food in a restaurant but I don't think the hallways should smell of it. It was not a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102traveller102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear guest,

I apologize that our hotel did not exceed your expectations. I will use the information provided by you to see how we can improve the areas you have mentioned. Please feel free to reach out to me at (904) 786-0388.

Respectfully,

Kapil Bava - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had to visit Jacksonville to work on some property, and needed a hotel close to where I was working for a couple of weeks. Country Inn met my needs. The staff were exceptionally courteous, and even took the time to enroll me in a rewards program. Food was good (hot breakfast every morning), pool was clean, maid service was fine. Pool was even equipped for special needs folks. This area is a little off the beaten track, but with the highway system in Jacksonville, you are only 15-20 minutes away from anything. I stayed at a Best Western by the airport my first night in town, and I won't go back there again. Its 15 minutes to the airport from Country Inn. Close to some good eateries, with some fast food joints within a 5 min walk.

Highly recommended if you staying in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliBDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!! I will be sharing these wonderful words with all of my staff. It was a pleasure having you during your stay.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very clean rooms and great service. I look for a comfortable bed and great internet service at any hotel I visit, this hotel had very comfortable bed and great internet connectivity. This hotel also had great breakfast, gym, and swimming pool. It was also conveniently located near many attraction we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spdallas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on our way to Pensacola. It was very comfortable and very clean, as well as a great location just off the interstate. My only issue as with breakfast. The full breakfast was great if you are carb nut - I would like to have seen some fruit or some choices other than breads and fats. But this will not stop me from using this hotel again if we are traveling that way again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALSemonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for your wonderful review!!

I also appreciate the heads up on our breakfast menu selection. I will be certain to review and update our menu according to corporate guidelines. On your next visit we hope that you can enjoy our newly renovated breakfast room as we are in the final phase of remodel.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at this property on our way to st. Augustine. We never stayed at Country inn before normally we stay at choice hotels. This was our first and we throughly enjoyed it. The employeea were very hospitable and the rooms were clean. Very surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davinp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville W - I295 & I10
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jac...
#76 of 133 in Jacksonville
6 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville I-10 West
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West

Address: 7035 Commonwealth Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32220-2828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#28 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#40 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Country Inn & Suites located in Jacksonville, FL. The hotel is located off I295, Exit 22 behind Wendy's Restaurant. The hotel offers Standard, Studios, and Suites available in King or Two Queen Bed configurations. Enjoy a hot breakfast with a rotational menu. The hotel offers many amenities including fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi, 24 hr coffee bar and freshly baked cookies. All rooms offer mini-fridge, microwave, coffee makers, iron/ironing board and 32" LCD TVs. Upgrade to our suite and enjoy total privacy to the living room area. Suites also include a pull out sofa bed with a TV in the bedroom area as well as the living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville West Hotel Jacksonville
Country Inn And Suites Jacksonville West
Jacksonville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing