We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love the Hotel I will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West
Ranked #45 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersSilver level
ocala
2 reviews
“Love the Hotel I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everyone was great .Front desk was very helpful I was having trouble with the air and Virginia at front-desk came right upstairs to help fix the problem. Room was very clean everything was up to date. The GM was very friendly and helpful. I will be back this will be my home away from home when I come to Jacksonville. Good job to all the staff at this location .I love this Country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Carolyn P,

Thank you for the wonderful comments! It was a pleasure having you at our hotel! We hope to see you on your next trip to Jacksonville.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava & Staff
Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    69
    28
    18
    15
See reviews for
91
42
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all this hotel is not in the most scenic of areas. You can walk to a Burger King. The lobby is up to date along with a high cathedral ceiling. The first room we went to the bathroom ceiling was in repair. It was not finished with a job that obviously maintenance was working on. We requested another room. Front desk, Virgi*** was very, very pleasant. She was READY to make sure our stay was good for us. The second room was nice. Up to date flatscreens. The mattresses were pretty firm. The furniture up to date. I loved the granite in the bathroom along with the granite in the shower stall. I had never seen that before. Mirrors were up to date. You can tell that much thought had been put into the overall rooms. The towels are actually white. Not very good water pressure.

Major problem was the sheets. Hair in the sheets...lots of it. I called front desk and while he did offer to redo the bed for us, he did bring us another set of sheets. The sheets that he brought us ALSO had hair in the sheets. I had originally thought this was a housekeeping issue, I had originally thought that housekeeping just "popped" the sheets by not changing the sheets from the previous guest, but it seems to go beyond that. I guarantee housekeeping does not have the time to take a magnifying glass to scope for hair on the beds that they do, they shouldnt have to do that. Either there are washing machine issues or the person folding the linen is not qualifying the linens. All the hair was disgusting, as it ranged from what appeared to be pet hair to pubic hair.

Also, the person who came to replace the linen did not dress as if he worked for hotel. Maybe he was owner or owner family. A uniform code would have been nice. As no uniforms are worn. Which takes away from taking anyone seriously. Also, many of the reviews for this hotel are negative. Possibly due to some simple training issues and maybe getting your rooms qualified. If there are certain rooms that have "special" issues, then either these rooms should not be rented out to guest or sold last or honestly inform the guest and provide a small discount due to anything in a room that is an issue. Also, as far as customer service goes, who wants to be talked to rudely. And no, the customer is NOT always right. However, alot of headaches can be avoided when graciousness is used in our tone while being firm and direct. Anytime, we go outside of the line, we leave ourselves "wide" open.

Overall, due to the "plethora" of hair, I will not be back to this hotel. But it seems that if these minor issues are taken care of, then this could be a four star property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aspertame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We have had no hair issues prior to or after this guest at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - GM
Country Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, I work out of town often and am consistently looking for a good place to stay where I can park my truck's.
This hotel has a very good parking lot for trucks of all sizes, they also have security cameras on the parking lot.
All of the stuff that I came in contact with were pleasant and accommodating, they even let me bring my insulated cup in to fill with coffee!

Great place for the business traveler.

Win.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTowerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent a week traveling in Florida, and this was the best nights sleep of the trip. Very comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful, very polite. The room was very clean and everything worked. While awake you could occassionally hear a train in the distance, but it was never loud enough that it woke us. Great Stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments!! I will be sure to share your these with our staff! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - GM
Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville West, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

By far the worst experience we have ever had at a Country Inn. Rude, no hateful management. Poor customer service, room was not clean...still had trash in trash can from the last visitor. Never again at this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riki4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

I regret the experience was not up to your expectations. I will definitely be in touch with our housekeeping department to see why there was an oversight on the trash receptacle. I would like to know about any other issues you had during your stay so that I am able to address them accurately with our staff. Please feel free to contact me to discuss. I will assure you this will not happen again and invite you to come back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - GM
Country Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel was not the best Country Inn And Suites that we have ever stayed at. The room was not very clean and had some problems. The sink drained slow, dirt on the walls, curtains that were coming down and sheets and a blanket that were not in good shape. I think that they have really let this place go. Front desk was very friendly and breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cokeman72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had during your stay at our hotel. We have addressed your concerns regarding the condition of the hotel, and we will be taking the necessary steps to correct these problems as soon as possible. We appreciate your feedback, if you have further comments please contact us at 1-800-967-9182.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Desk personnel gave us more expensive room without informing us about it and when we complained about it to the manager he denied it. Our room was facing highway and it was unfortunately very noisy. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers are facing highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sincerely apologetic that we did not have any standard rooms (less expensive) rooms available when you arrived at our hotel. As a "walk-in" we do not offer rates for room types that have already been sold out. The rates that are offered are room types that we have available in inventory for the particular date of stay. In this case the suite rate was quoted and offered based on the availability for the particular day/stay. To ensure that you will be able to secure the best rates available it is necessary to make reservations ahead of time to ensure the best price + availability for our standard room type are available to you. I hope that we can regain your business in the future and please contact me anytime to make reservations.

Respectfully,

Kapil Bava - GM
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cecil Field Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville I-10 West
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Conference Center
Quality Inn Conference Center
#102 of 134 in Jacksonville
2.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West
Address: 7035 Commonwealth Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#28 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#40 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Country Inn & Suites located in Jacksonville, FL. The hotel is located off I295, Exit 22 behind Wendy's Restaurant. The hotel offers Standard, Studios, and Suites available in King or Two Queen Bed configurations. Enjoy a hot breakfast with a rotational menu. The hotel offers many amenities including fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi, 24 hr coffee bar and freshly baked cookies. All rooms offer mini-fridge, microwave, coffee makers, iron/ironing board and 32" LCD TVs. Upgrade to our suite and enjoy total privacy to the living room area. Suites also include a pull out sofa bed with a TV in the bedroom area as well as the living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Jacksonville West
Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville West Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing