We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai and Curry Around”
Review of Green Papaya

Green Papaya
Ranked #13 of 2,026 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Thai and Curry Around”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I've tried several of the dishes here and my favorite is the signature "Amazing Curry" - excellent for those who like the thai penut sauce. The coconut shrimp are the best of this kind I'ver ever had and I'm not always a fan of seafood or coconut. Its a trip to get to the North Side but worth it for this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    76
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thai talent on display!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I routinely drive 35 miles each way to eat at this wonderful place! I usually have the crab rangoons, fresh spring rolls and Tom Yum soup, with a Thai tea as a special treat! My husband loves to order duck or eggplant. The red curry is always amazing, and most entrees can be ordered "to taste" as far as the amount of "heat" you prefer. I have found that Green Papaya "Thai hot" description is never disappointing -- some like it hot, and I'm definitely one of 'em! Our server, Mina, is a real professional, and never disappoints --- she is attentive but not "pesty", always remembers our favorite dishes and treats us like royalty. The ambiance is wonderful, with a lovely waterfall whose sound blends perfectly with the quiet music being played while guests eat and chat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluepointgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Thai food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have dined here several times now and have never been disappointed. The food is prepared fresh each meal. The place is spotless and Kevin the chef comes to your table to check on your satisfaction. The seafood tamarind was outstanding....tons of shrimp, scallops, green lip muscles (New Zealand) and octopus prepared to your taste for spiciness. Overall it rates the five circles for quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uglygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really nice atmosphere and tasty food.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Really nice atmosphere and tasty food!

Our waitress was friendly, everything was clean, and I would recommends it to my friends.

The only complaints I have are that it is slightly expensive and has pretty small portions that left me hungry afterwards. Most people don't eat as much as me though...

Helpful?
Thank TLWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing curry!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The food here is amazing!! Best Thai in Florida!!! .. Great ambience!!! I had curry and my mom had pad Thai.. We had fresh spring rolls too.. Best I've ever had!!!! Very friendly service.. Wish I could've eaten more!!! Beautifully decorated!! I will be back on next visit to Florida!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Justine1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya also viewed

 

Been to Green Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing