We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected gem”

Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family was against it and thought it would be "bor---ing" but we all thoroughly enjoyed this trip to a little touted attraction. If I remember it correctly, 34 million years ago this area of Colorado was covered with a glacier lake, plant life and massive redwoods, the petrified remains of which dot the meadow around the old lake bed at Florissant. The meadow walk was great with the redwood remains, lovely flora and playful prairie dogs popping in and out of view. Try to catch the ranger talk..it is interesting and informative.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    98
    38
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice easy hiking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Interesting that this used to be a lush,lake environment with giant redwood trees, as it is a very dry area now, but has many varieties of wildflowers and wildlife. I've hiked all the trails which are fairly easy hiking, not too hilly, and take you through forests, plains, and past small streams and some ponds with some diverse scenery. There is also the Hornbek Homestead, a preserved cabin with outbuildings that is open to the public on some weekends and holidays. As stated in other reviews, the most impressive thing you will see here are the petrified tree stumps, the Rangers are very helpful and informative as well as the field seminars the provide. I recently attended a star gazing program that was well done if not a little too crowded for the room they held it in, but they provided telescopes to look through with a local astronomy club giving information on what you were seeing in the night sky. I would like to see more of those programs in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JThobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Not sure that I was that anxious to come here but since we were driving past anyway, we stopped in. There was a short film. And then we started to walk around outside. Basically, the main attraction was the giant petrified redwood stumps. Who knew there were redwoods in Colorado? There was a misleading sign indicating that "the big stump" was .3 miles. However, the path goes on for another mile and a half or so. This was on a very hot day. But we walked the path and discovered that they have it set so that the path brings you forward in time. The redwoods were from billions of years ago and you gradually get pulled forward. I was very impressed to find out that the pebbles we were walking on were a billion years old. Who'd have thunk it? Then gradually you see fossils that are millions of years old and then only thousands by the time you get back to the visitors' center. Very informative and a great hike, if a little exhausting on a hot day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCMcG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If you're into fossils and prairies....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I have to admit I expected a lot more out of this place. Probably not a great idea to haul a 4 year old around here. Our teens enjoyed the hiking and the trails are clearly marked and easy to navigate. The visitor center was interesting and right outside are some really neat petrified stumps! The open feel of the place and history represented here was pleasant. Don't go mid-day in the summer as it gets hot. We went mid-morning and by the time we picnicked for lunch we were exhausted from the heat. Great forest trails and prairie areas for the hiker/nature enthusiast.

Helpful?
Thank RainJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
648 reviews
389 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Interesting monument”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stumbled upon the National Monument on our way to Manitou Springs. Very nice/new Visitor center and the employees were super. An informative speaker gave a talk on bears and I think the kids in the group really enjoyed.

The have a simple circle hike out back that you can view some Petrified tree stumps over 34 million years old. That is however directly in the hot son so take water with you. The other hiking trails were long and we did not do those. I recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing