We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fun atmosphere”
Review of Harbor Crab Co

Harbor Crab Co
Ranked #14 of 130 Restaurants in Patchogue
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have a lot of friends who like this place but I had never been. We did a girls' night out last weekend with a late dinner and stayed for drinks and such afterward. The meal was great for the price point, and the laid-back beachy vibe (even in February) was very cool. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    19
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

So we finally get a babysitter for the kids and get a night out. Had gone many times over the years and even given gift cards to family for the place. Had no reservations and was told it would be about 1/2 hour to 40 minutes. That was fine with me as I could catch the end of the game in the bar. After the first round of drinks about 10 minutes later we were being seated which was fine with all except the bartender who openly complained to the hostess. Very often this ploy is done to up your bar tab at a establishment. We were seated in the adjoinig paddle boat that gave a good view of the scenery. This was ok as it was a mild evening tempeture wise. We could have done without the continuos dripping water from the roof of the ship on our table. To make a long story short the food was horrible and the wait staff just a bunch of inexperienced kids. After eating we were going to have a few drinks in the bar as they had a band that didnt sound to bad but we passed on it as the crowd in there looked like drop outs from a rehab clinic. This place needs to call Gordon Ramsey and fast. It was obvious the place is just going for bar profits and has no interest in serving good quality seafood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank us4ontheg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another clique”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you don't fit, you don't belong. Made for the immature regardless of their age. Food quality lacks more often than not. I'd rather go to Wendy's!

Helpful?
3 Thank rhett69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Food, but pricey!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place could use a face lift! It looks tired and dark. The food is average and the prices are not. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An average dining experience”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The food is very good. The prices are fair. As far as ambience goes there is a long road in front of them to get this restaurant to the point where you would say wow look at the Waterfront motif, just not there. The greeter, Kathy, is the best part of this business, she is a bubbly, cheerful bundle of happiness that this place sorely needs. It's a locals hangout. I've been there, but if I didn't go back, I wouldn't miss it. It has a nice view of Patchogue River. There are plans for the Boat that is moored to the retaurant to go out on dinner and lunch cruises. That is what would make this a 3 or 4 star establishment.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyV108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Crab Co also viewed

 
Blue Point, Long Island
Patchogue, Long Island
 

Been to Harbor Crab Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing