We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amber Bistro - CLOSED

Amber Bistro
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church St.
Transit: Bus 221, 960B, 960C
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We arrived at 1:45pm and they close at 2pm, but happily seated u and gave us a grat meal!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dreamcatcher2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful ingredients!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Amber Bistro is great for lunch or dinner. The produce is sourced locally, as much as possible, so it is really fresh and flavorful. Local wines on the wine list too (and they are good). Ask Yama for menu recommendations - his suggestions are always excellent. Atmosphere is relaxed - we never feel rushed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJKanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I really love this place. I need to try more things but I just can't miss my meze platter and my baklava. Please eat here often, so this place stays in my neighborhood forever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliemac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I took my mother to Amber Bistro for lunch since it was her birthday and, I must say, this meal was one of the best I've ever eaten. Everything was perfect, the service, the food, the wine pairing, the atmosphere, etc. We sampled the tuna tartare on a taro chip - light and refreshing. Then the tomato soup - outstanding, followed by the beet salad paired with the Girard Roussane - perfect pairing with the acidity of the salad and light floral or the wine. The crab cake lightly coated in panko crumbs melted in your mouth and the shaved fennel with orange aoili was an excellent accompaniment. The halibut over shredded zucchini with a vinaigrette was the perfect balance. Even the desserts were melt in your mouth perfect. Being a foodie, I relished every bite and even hummed a few times. Thank you, Chef Shane, for an excellent meal and wonderful memories!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosebudRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Danville Hands Down!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Everything about this restaurant is excellent. Let's start with the drinks - unique tropical drinks created by the bartenders - pineapple infused vodka (they make) for a pineapple martini or bluberry infused rum for their bluberry mojito. Refreshing and fun! Great wine list - owner even makes his own wine that is excellent and well priced! The food is fantastic. Chef Shane is constantly creating new items. The salmon appetizer is a must, but everything is great. Owner, Eric, knows what he is doing. From the staff/service to the food/drinks, everything is mixed to perfection. Eric is a true restaurantuer. This should be the #1 restaurant in Danville, CA.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CS1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing