We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high priced Italian restuarant”
Review of Piatti Danville

Piatti Danville
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Ramon
Description: Ristorante Piatti features a menu with recipes complimenting the various regions of Italy. It has a casual yet sparkling atmosphere with authentic regional Italian cuisine. Piatti's success can be attributed to its staff and its approach to food, wine, and the dining experience.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A high priced Italian restuarant”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We tried Piatti's Restaurant in Danville for the first time this past weekend. We found the food fairly good, but the portions smallish relative to the prices.

Plus: It seems to be very popular, when we arrived, before 6:00 PM on a Sunday, the place was pretty much packed. There is an attractive outside area but on the day we were there it was about 104 degrees, which kept everyone inside. The main courses were very nice - a salmon dish and a prawn pasta.

Minus: Our waiter was quick to bring the menu, water and bread; but our bar drinks took about 15 minutes to arrive. The price is too high for this type of Italian restaurant - a salad with a few figs, blackberries, and raspberries was about $13, not a starter salad price . The portions too small - the Ahi Tuna appetizer had 4 or 5 small slices. In addition the tuna had a hint of fishy, something Ahi should never have. Overall, dinner with one drink each ran about $100 before tax and tip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    63
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner at Piatti”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had not visited a Piatti in quite awhile, but I was very impressed with changes in the menu since my last visit to another one in another city. Forgot how great the olive oil/pepper tapenade is served with french bread. Enjoyed a great smoked pork tenderloin and caesar salad with Pinot Noir by the glass. Atmosphere is excellent for all occasions. The management of this restaurant group has always impressed me. Reasonable prices for a high quality dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jp1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch at Piatti's Danville”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Upscale restaurant located 2 block West of I680 via the Sycamore Valley Rd offramp. Wooden structure is shaded by large trees. Outdoor seating available. Easy parking. Nice white tablecloths and napkins. Excellent food and service. Pleasant decor. Full bar with extensive wine listing. We enjoyed our meal and recommend Piatti's Danville.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have had many good meals here, including a rehearsal dinner in the private room. Because the bar is open to the dining area, the noise level is high, so be warned.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaretEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been somewhat remiss in writing a review on a restaurant that we frequent quite a bit. The food is very good, fairly priced but both the service and management (if something goes sideways) is what sometimes makes this a very pleasant experience. You cannot go wrong with either lunch or dinner.
The main courses are very good with an ample selection of wine that does not break the bank. Very laid back operation that you can feel comfortable in.
The bar is also well run and you don't have to wait to be asked if you want a drink no matter how crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatti Danville also viewed

 

Been to Piatti Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing