We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my "go to" Japanese resturants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akira Bistro - Danville

Akira Bistro - Danville
Ranked #54 of 142 Restaurants in Danville
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Danville. CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my "go to" Japanese resturants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been eating at Akira since they opened. They have a nice selection of sushi and their combination plates are always a favorite.

Cold soba noodles are refreshing and great tasting during the hot summers!

Tempura is light and crisp and fish tastes fresh.

The only downside is their popularity. Friday/Saturday nights they can fill up and there is a wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjmail94526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great ambience and good quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Love our local Japanese restaurant, one of our favorite hang-outs. High quality sushi, family-friendly, and accommodating. A bit pricey, otherwise, we'd eat here every night!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJWilliamsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
539 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Elegent Lunch-Sushi Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Ambiance & Great Sushi.

Wonderful server. Wonderful Fish. Loved the mix of miso and sweet on the Black Sea Bass Special.

LOVED the Blue fin & Ama Ebi.

Only complaint-The Ami Ebi heads were underdone. :(

Loved our lunch experience none the less.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I went here hoping for a nice dinner. We were given two stools at the counter to sit at, before I saw an open table in a corner. They sat us there and promptly forgot about us.
The sushi was ok but small pieces. The tempura was ok.
There was nothing about this place that makes me want to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite local sushi house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I come here frequently for a delicious meal, a great glass of wine and a relaxed atmosphere. My hub loves their Tuna Poke- a little oniony for me. I crave their baja hamachi- amazing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OndiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akira Bistro - Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing