We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestyle Cooking”
Review of Eveready Diner

Eveready Diner
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Homestyle Cooking”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Food was very good and reasonably priced. Extensive menu with many choices...kid friendly. Great for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathilda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    269
    88
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
225 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Guy Fiori is right, this is a great diner experience!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We saw the Eveready Dinner on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives and read the reviews here, so decided on it one night for dinner on our recent Hyde Park trip. Wow what a great, fun place...bright, shiny, just a 50's diner on steroids. Menu is enormous, and the portions large so come hungry. I had a reuben and it was delicious, perfectly grilled, and not soggy a bit which is the pitfall of most reubens. Fries were delicious, so was the cole slaw. My daughter had a French Dip and pronounced it great. My husband made the mistake of ordering a waffle, and while it was good he had sad eyes when he saw what he missed on our plates! Hot fudge sundae for dessert was just ok but you can't win them all. Waiter must have been new as he was a bit forgetful but we didn't mind as there is so much to watch in this fascinating place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Blundered off the freeway and stumbled into this restarant”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We like to go to independent restaurants this one is very good. I have never seen a diner with such a large menu. Every thing we had was particularly good and a pleasant interlude from the road. One thing was particularly interesting was the egg cream which neither one of us had experienced before. You won't see this just anywhere! Service was excellent and friendly. Food was very good and the ambiance and also very good. We will be stopping at this fine diner the next time we go by. We like to eat late in the night. For what we had it was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
284 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good for the Eye, Too Much for the Stomach”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I read about this place on-line and wanted to try it. My husband and I were impressed by the outside which is flashy to say the least. The inside is even more exciting! It was a pure delight just to sit and look at it all! I couldn't tell if it was supposed to be the 1950's or Art Deco - seemed to be a combo. You'd think maybe 1950's, but then there's all the FDR stuff and he wasn't alive in the 1950's.

I ordered the pot roast dinner. It was so huge I couldn't eat all of it and that's saying something as I have a big appetite. As we were on vacation I couldn't take it with us, so had to leave at least half of it at the restaurant. The beef was absolutely excellent but the rest of the stuff (mashed potatoes, green beans, etc.) was just barely okay. If I'd known how big the portions were, we could have shared a meal maybe or I would have gotten a sandwich instead of facing about 4 large mashed potatoes piled high that weren't that good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IL-Snowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good and plenty”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a 50's style diner with great food at reasonable prices. Had a reuben and a chocolate egg cream- yum!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank beatfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eveready Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing