We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, rude”
Review of Golden Manor Motel

Golden Manor Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We chose this place because it is directly across the street from the FDR site and it had a pool. (We visited during a heat wave.) Provided basic accomodation per the AAA guide book. No welcome. Weird practice of charging up front with a crude hand lettered sign proclaiming, "NO REFUNDS." Desk clerk got angry when my husband could not find the ice bucket. (It was there but the man was rude.) My advice is to try to find a place in Poughkeepsie when visiting the sites at Hyde Park.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank HannahMary6637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2007

Older motel that we chose for the low price. While the "breakfast " was donuts and muffins, coffe & juice, it was also complimentary and not advertised at all. The owners, who appeared to run the lobby, were older people of foreign extraction. They were prompt in filling a request for a softer pillow (The ones in the room were brand new.) The room was spacious but if you want decor, try the Ritz ; at at this price it was so good we came back to spend an extra night and moved on in the AM rather than travel and check in late the evening before. A great place from which to radiate out to see the many attractions in the mid Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bluessuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

The lady at the front desk was quite possibly the rudest clerk I have ever come in contact with. She was very harsh, and very mean, although her pet was cute. Then she gave us a room with 3 queen sized beds....and it was just me and my boyfriend. Of course, he and I were very confused, but the room was ok. She was just incredibly rude and made us feel unwelcomed.

Stayed: November 2005
2  Thank TiaSnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We spent two nights at the Golden Manor Hotel in Hyde Park, NY. We had an efficient check in and were given a room at the very back of the place. The walls are paneled and the window treatments do not match either the carpet or the bedspreads.
However, the place was really clean. The sheets were pressed and looked crisp. Actually they were the best sheets we had on our trip through New York State. The mattress was not up to date, but it was OK. The carpet had a few stains but it was not old. The lighting was florescent bulbs over the beds and the various stands and tables. The room was a pretty good size.
Soap and shampoo in a packet were in the bathroom. The towels were thin.
The breakfast was donuts, coffee and orange juice. Half and half cream was there for the coffee.
There are six hotels in Hyde Park. It's a mystery to me why there aren't more chain hotels there. It's a place where you can easily stay for three or four days and still not see all the things in the area. There are a lot of great restaurants near this area.
We paid $55.00 a night with a Seniors Rate.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Trip Advisor Member: New Jersey, USA
Older motel, small rooms, clean. Asked for a refrigerator and it was in the room before we left the office, no extra charge. Found the staff friendly, the grounds neat, the pool wonderful, quiet at night. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreeTibet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

well, I never got to stay at this hotel because I was told that 'my kind of people' were not welcome. 'My kind of people' being somebody who asked to see a room before actually renting it. The lobby was so disgustingly dirty that we wanted to make sure the rooms were nothing like it.
I have never in my life been treated so rudely by anybody.
The experience made for a very funny story; however it really was not all that funny! It was an unbelievable experience in the service industry - don't ruin your vacation by encountering the rudest people I have ever met.
Hyde Park is beautiful! There is a Holiday Exress a few miles up the road and the service staff could not be any friendlier!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

We had a horrible stay at the Golden Manor. The place was dirty and attracted a bad crowd. The staff/owners of the hotel were absolutely rude and not helpful at all. They sat around their television all day, and when it came time to checkout, the office was closed. Two days later, the hotel posted a another $40.00 fee to my card, they will not tell me why they did this. You will be better off staying at the better hotels a mile up the road in Hyde Park. Try the Quality Inn, a little more expensive but well worth the money. DO NOT STAY AT THIS DUMP!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ekstengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
360 reviews
7.1 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Quality Inn Hyde Park
#2 of 4 in Hyde Park
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Golden Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Manor Motel

Address: 522 Albany Post Rd, Route 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1901
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range: $30 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Golden Manor Hotel Hyde Park
Golden Manor Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing