We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not fancy but very good value”
Review of Golden Manor Motel

Golden Manor Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Manor Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“not fancy but very good value”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here during a visit to the FDR Home and Library, which is right across the street. This place is definitely dated and not fancy, but our room was large and clean, and everything in the bathroom worked well. It was so quiet, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep after a busy day. The owner kindly stored my daughter's doggie bag from dinner. Breakfast is pretty basic, with juice, coffee and donuts, but that's what we expected. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold to use it. I would recommend the Golden Manor for people looking for a "budget" motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
18
22
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July, 2013. Called to make reservation(this place is not automated at all) and was quoted $55.00 per night for two people. When we arrived we were told the rate was $65 for Thursday and $75 for Friday because of high demand. The desk clerk insisted that is what she quoted me. Room was as pictured. Pillows(2 for 2 people) were worthless. Bath towels were small and thin. Wifi worked but our room was right next to the office. Someone entered our room while we were out for a few hours and turned of the window a/c but did not make up the room at the same time. Felt this was an invasion of privacy. Breakfast is donuts and bad coffee and oj in the depressing lobby. Location is good. Room was large. Swimming pool was "not ready. "If this is important to you ask when reserving if it is open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The property is old school motel, but not bad. Room was large and since there apparently were no other guest on our side, very quiet. The owners were friendly enough and quite helpful. In the morning they provided Entenmanns pastries and coffee and juice, but we preferred the Apple Pie Bakery at C.I.A. which is located about half a minute down the road. FDR home is literally across the street. Bed was ok although they try to fit queen size bedding on a king size matress...no big deal...the room is clean. The shower water pressure is more than adequate...better than I have at home actually. Bring shampoo and soap, the ones they supply are not so hot...not bad but you can bring better. If you really want to have a bygone experience, there is a really cheesey drive-in theatre right next door! All in all the room was worth the price and the experience was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed with my wife at this motel for one night during Marist's graduation and found it very adequate. The bed was firm and comfortable. The furniture is dated but the room was very spacious and the tv had a good variety of channels including Showtime and other pay channels. There was coffee, juice and donuts in the lobby in the morning. The cost was around $85.00 including all taxes and fees so it is very economical. The room was also very clean. The outside air temperature was in the high forties at night and the heat worked well. There is a water saver shower head but the water pressure was so good the shower was very refreshing. The owners should look into some new chairs since they are old but overall the experience was an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Bring an extra pillow since they are scarce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Golden Manor several times as we love to visit the Roosevelt National Park and the mansions along the Hudson that are full of history and great tours. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. The shower we have in our $75.00 a night room is a water saver and you will want to bring your own hair dryer.If you need an iron, Trudy, your host will let you borrow it from the office. Coffee is served in the office There is a great place to have breakfast down the street-Ever Ready Diner and many good restaurants for other meals nearby. There is a TV and you also get your remote when you check in. None of these things are a big deal when you are on a budget and want a nights sleep in a clean establishment before you are off and running to your next adventure in the area.

Room Tip: Book early around graduation time- several colleges nearby,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Attended the Rhinebeck Car Show this past weekend. I found the hotel very convenient. Directly across from FDR's home in Hyde Park. Quiet. Owners are very nice although making the original reservation was short and to the point, most likely due to a slight language barrier, but once there they are quite nice. The rooms are VERY 60's, but absolutely SPOTLESS! I don't care if they are modern, just clean and they are! Cable TV and free WiFi all worked great. Beds are a little hard for my comfort, but everyone likes something different. Grounds well kept and no trash. Free coffee and donuts in the mornings, nothing fancy, but it's there. I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I faces the main road, but rooms were still quiet as the building it set back from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I generally prefer staying at locally owned establishments. Excellent value and location, friendly and helpful proprietors. Everything was as advertised, hot coffee, tea, OJ and pastries in the am. Room was clean, plenty of towels provided. Food, drink and historic sites within easy walk. I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
346 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
423 reviews
7.0 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Manor Motel

Property: Golden Manor Motel
Address: 522 Albany Post Rd, Route 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1901
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Golden Manor Hotel Hyde Park
Golden Manor Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing