We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hearty fare for a cold day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranberry's At Tilley Hall

Cranberry's At Tilley Hall
Ranked #15 of 46 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hearty fare for a cold day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A friend and I stopped in last week to grab lunch before we went to a training session for work. It was one of those winter days that fools you with bright sun but bitter temperatures. At Cranberry's we had a sunny table in a warm room and a delicious hot lunch. Both of us had the quiche of the day - I've had this on several visits over the years and it's always wonderful - flaky pastry shell and fluffy egg filling. The cold day made me add an order of soup to my meal; a "cup" serving was a generous portion of potato-bacon, a hearty puree with a mild smoky flavor. I added a bottle of soda to my order; Cranberry's has the most interesting old flavors (I forget what brand) of glass-bottled sodas in the case - I had a very tasty birch beer.

I love the decor at Cranberry's with its mix of Victorian and Edwardian styles and local history. It's comfortable, the food is great, the staff is friendly. Whether you want a quick light meal or a casual snack, I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amory, Mississippi
Level Contributor
362 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very Tired after Touring Sights in Hyde Park and Stopped Here for Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was a cool, rainy day in Hyde Park. Had Viewed Vanderbilt Mansion and had FDR Home to tour after lunch! This was so convenient! I had quiche and my husband had soup! If I lived in Hyde Park, I would have to eat lunch here at least once a week! Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“I really enjoy Cranberry's and have visited numerous times.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I first met the owner of Cranberry's last year at a farmers market in Hyde Park where I tried one of his pastries, and it had been very, very good, which is when I found Cranberry's was a local establishment and made a mental note to try them..... well, life got a bit in the way and it took me nearly 8 months to finally be able to go, and now I am hooked!

I love this place! Very warm, friendly atmosphere, filled with art work from not only local artists, but from the local schools which I find such a supportive and wonderful gesture.

The food is delicious, and always consistent, as is the service. The place itself reminds me of when I have been in New Orleans, with it's artsy flair, local works and books, and as I said, the food is very very good. I highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is walking distance from my house and when I am home during the week I love going there for lunch. All the food is prepared fresh and to order. It always tastes great and I love it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's not just cranberries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The food in this establishment is very, very good. There is a great variety and the desserts are just delicious. The atmosphere is cozy. There are magazines to read if you are alone and lots of tables from which to choose.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranberry's At Tilley Hall also viewed

 

Been to Cranberry's At Tilley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing